11/17/02 Kuril Island Region 7.3
11/17/02 Kuril Island Region 7.3 Focal Mechanism

Kuril Island Region 7.3 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Kuril Island Region
Date: November 17, 2002
Time: 04:53:51 (UTC); 10:53 pm CST (local 11/16/02)
Latitude: 47.98 N
Longitude: 146.29 E
Magnitude: 7.3 Mw
Depth: 473 km
Distance: 77.54 deg (5,354 km from Milwaukee)

P-wave arrival time 05:05 (UTC); 11:05 pm CST (local 11/16/02).
S-wave arrival time: 05:14 (UTC); 11:14 pm CST (local 11/16/02).
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
This event was too deep to produce large amplitude surface waves.

Back to Earthquake Map