1/16/03 Off the Coast of Oregon 6.2
1/16/03 Off the Coast of Oregon 6.2 Focal Mechanism

Off the Coast of Oregon 6.2 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Off the Coast of Oregon
Date: January 16, 2003
Time: 00:53:15 (UTC); 6:53 pm CST (local 1/15/03)
Latitude: 44.31 N
Longitude: 129.09 W
Magnitude: 6.2 Mw
Depth: 17 km
Distance: 29.60 deg (2,044 miles from Milwaukee)

P-wave arrival time 00:59 (UTC); 6:59 pm CST (local 11/16/02).
S-wave arrival time: 01:04 (UTC); 7:04 pm CST (local 11/16/02).
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map