1/22/03 Colima Mexico 7.8
1/22/03 Colima Mexico 7.8 Focal Mechanism

Colima Mexico 7.8 Mw Earthquake Focal Mechanism

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Colima Mexico
Date: January 22, 2003
Time: 02:06:35 (UTC); 8:06 pm CST (local 1/21/03)
Latitude: 18.87 N
Longitude: 103.83 W
Magnitude: 7.8 Mw
Depth: 5 km
Distance: 27.64 deg (1,909 miles from Milwaukee)

P-wave arrival time: 02:13 (UTC); 8:13 pm CST (local 1/21/03).
S-wave arrival time: 02:17 (UTC); 8:17 pm CST (local 1/21/03).
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.

Back to Earthquake Map