2013 Biophysics Seminars

Biophysics Seminars are usually on Thursday afternoons from 4:00-6:00 pm in Physics 481.

Biophysics Seminar Titles and Speakers


Thursday, 5 December 2013, 4:00 PM

Bioinformatics and the Path to Personalized Medicine - The Other Kind of Biophysics

Raymond Hovey, Asst. Researcher, UWM School of Freshwater Science


Thursday, 21 November 2013, 4:00 PM

Time resolved crystallography without crystals

Dr. Dilano Saldin, Professor, UWM Physics


Thursday, 7 November 2013, 4:00 PM

The metalloenzymes of nitrification and other challenging enzymes

Dr. Andrew Pacheco, Associated Professor, UWM Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry


Thursday, 3 October 2013, 4:00 PM

Structural and Functional Analysis of an Acetoacetate Decarboxylase-like Protein from Streptomyces bingchenggensis

Lisa Mueller, Graduate Advanced Opportunity Fellow, UWM Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry


Thursday, 19 September 2013, 4:00 PM

Time-Resolved Studies

Dr. Namrta Purwar, Post Doc, UWM Physics


Thursday, 23 May 2013, 4:00 PM

Structural Dynamics of Proteasome Assembly by NMR

Aaron Ehlinger, Graduate Assistant, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN


Thursday, 9 May 2013, 4:00 PM

OptiMiS TruLine: a high speed spectrally resolved two photon microscope uilizing line-scan excitation

Mike Stoneman, Senior Scientist, Aurora Spectral Technologies


Thursday, 26 April 2013, 4:00 PM

Time-Resolved Structures From Solution

Dr. Kanupriya Pande, Post Doc, UWM Physics


Thursday, 11 April 2013, 4:00 PM

Relaxation Processes in Fractal Structures

Koki Yokoi, Graduate Student, UWM Physics


Thursday, 28 March 2013, 4:00 PM

Quaternary structure of wild type and mutated rhodopsin at room and body temperature using spectral FRET

Ashish Mishra, Graduate Student, UWM Physics


Thursday, 14 March 2013, 4:00 PM

New Projects for Time Resolved Crystallography

Jason Tenboer, Graduate Student, UWM Physics
or Dr. Shailesh Tripathi, Post Doc, UWM Physics


Thursday, 28 February 2013, 4:00 PM

Manifold Embedding

Ali Dashti, Graduate Student, UWM College of Engineering & Applied Science
or Dr. Peter Schwander, Senior Scientist & Adjunct Associate Professor, UWM Physics


Thursday, 14 February 2013, 4:00 PM

FRET Experiments

Dr. Gabriel Biener, Post Doc, UWM Physics


Thursday, 31 January 2013, 4:00 PM

Embedding Techniques

Dr. Peter Schwander, Senior Scientist & Adjunct Associate Professor, UWM Physics
or Ali Dashti, UWM College of Engineering & Applied Science Graduate Student