Advising

If you have already requested an advisor you may look him or her up with the Advisor Lookup Form. (Please note this is an external web page.)

Faculty Advisors

Reflecting our strong interest in providing undergraduates with individualized guidance, all members of the Psychology faculty serve as advisors. Students are free to select any faculty advisor in psychology. Simply start contacting the faculty member of your choice. Students are encouraged to meet with their advisors to discuss career choices and to select coursework that will best prepare them for their goals as soon as they enroll at UWM. There is no need to wait until the major is officially declared to consult with a psychology advisor. Students also have an advisor for non-psychology matters in the College of Letters & Science. To obtain an advisor in the College of Letters and Science, call (414) 229-4654, or visit Holton 142.

Associate Chair of Psychology

Students are encouraged to consult with the Associate Chair of Psychology, Christine Larson (414) 229-4996 or larsoncl@uwm.edu, who handles all inquiries about undergraduate matters, including course transfers, career options, admission to graduate programs in psychology, course-related questions, and special problems and grievances that arise.

Course Syllabi and Teaching Evaluations

Course syllabi and summaries of faculty teaching evaluations are available to students in the main office of Psychology, Garland 224.

Areas of Interest and Faculty Advisors
Department of Psychology

It is a good idea to select a faculty advisor from the area of psychology that is of most interest to you. If you are undecided on an area of interest, you can choose any faculty member in the department as your advisor. For example, you may choose a faculty member you liked as an instructor. You may always feel free to seek advisement from the Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies, Professor Larson (larsoncl@uwm.edu).

Areas of Interest

General: Take a broad range of courses on any topic in psychology (any faculty member would be appropriate)

Neuroscience: role of the brain in behavior

Health Psychology: relationships between psychological/behavioral factors and physical health and illness

Behavior Analysis: Study of environmental influences on behavior in both basic and applied contexts

Mental Health/Professional: introduction to clinical or counseling psychology (psychological disorders, assessment and treatment)

Area of Interest Faculty Advisors Office Email

Behavior Analysis

Professor Dermer

Professor Moore

Professor Tiger

Garland 213

Garland 238B

Garland 219

dermer@uwm.edu

jcm@uwm.edu

tiger@uwm.edu

Clinical Psychology

Professor Cahill

Professor Davies

Professor Klein-Tasman

Professor Larson

Professor Lee

Professor Lisdahl

Professor Osmon

Professor Ridley

Garland 233

Garland 202C

Garland 238D

Garland 217

Garland 211

Garland 238C

Garland 338

Garland 230

cahill@uwm.edu

hobart@uwm.edu

bklein@uwm.edu

larsoncl@uwm.edu

leehj@uwm.edu

medinak@uwm.edu

neuropsy@uwm.edu

rridley@uwm.edu

Health Psychology

Professor Fleming

Professor Merritt

Professor Mosack

Professor Reddy

Garland 228

Garland 216

Garland 236

Garland 238A

mundo@uwm.edu

merrittm@uwm.edu

kemosack@uwm.edu

reddy@uwm.edu

Neuroscience

Professor Diba

Professor Driscoll

Professor Frick

Professor Greenberg

Professor Greene

Professor Hannula

Professor Helmstetter

Professor Moyer

Professor Mueller

Professor Swain

Garland 202A

Garland 314

Garland 202B

Garland 319

Garland 212

Garland 316

Garland 207

Garland 208

Garland 238E

Holton 218A

diba@uwm.edu

driscoli@uwm.edu

frickk@uwm.edu

agreenb@uwm.edu

ag@uwm.edu

hannula@uwm.edu

fjh@uwm.edu

jrmoyer@uwm.edu

devinm@uwm.edu

rswain@uwm.edu

General Psychology

Professor Larson

Professor Lima

Professor Schaefer

Garland 217

Garland 232

Garland 218

larsoncl@uwm.edu

suelima@uwm.edu

abbyness@uwm.edu