Gertrude Eichstaedt Scholarship and William F. Halloran Scholarship

Both of these scholarships are $1,000 one-time (non-renewable) scholarships. Half of the payment is made for fall 2014 and the other half for spring 2015 as long as the students continues to meet the criteria. Students who will have sophomore status (24 completed degree credits) by Fall 2014 should apply as a freshman in order to receive the financial award for your second year.

These scholarships are available only to students who will be sophomores, are attending UWM full-time, and have a declared major or declared intended major in a program within the College of Letters & Science. A common application (PDF) is used to apply for both scholarships, though a successful applicant will recieve only one of the scholarships.


  • 3.5 GPA or higher
  • Sophomore status by the start of fall term 2014
  • Demonstrated progress towards an L&S degree
  • Relevant outside activities
  • Quality of written statement
  • Preference for a Humanities major (Art History, Communication, English, any foreign language, Philosophy) and for an Honors College student (Halloran Scholarship only)


The deadline to apply is 4 p.m. April 25, 2014, though the final decision/offer will be made in early July after review of applicants' second semester grades.

The Gertrude Eichstaedt Scholarship was created through the generosity of a former Assistant Dean in the College to recognize academic excellence. Traditionally 8-10 scholarships are awarded each year.

The William F. Halloran Scholarship was created in honor of, and primarily funded by, a former Dean of the College. Historically, two scholarships are awarded each year.

For more information:

Julie Carlson, Scholarship Coordinator
UWM College of Letters and Science
Phone: 414-229-2788