Sociology PhD Students

Sociology PhD Students

First cohort (2011-12) of the new Sociology PhD Program:  DJ Wolover, C Thompson, M Caldwell, M Pylman and K Jackson

Baran, Stephanie
sbaran@uwm.edu

Bartholomay, Daniel
bartho23@uwm.edu

Caldwell, Mark
Areas of Interest: Urban institutions and racial inequality, critical GIS and knowledge production through mapping mediums, agri-food systems and commodity fetishism, organizational processes and cultural codes within food production schemes.  mac4@uwm.edu 

Calkins, Thomas
Areas of Interest: Cultural Sociology, specifically the Consumption and Production of Music and Art, Mural production in Northern Ireland, the Intersection of Class and Taste, Social Inequality, Quantitative and Qualitative Methods. tcalkins@uwm.edu 

Coleman, Atiera
Areas of Interest:  Social Inequality, Education (Adolescent Intervention Programs), Race Relations, Intersection of Race and Gender, Quantitative Analysis.  atiera@uwm.edu 

Collins, Karen
Areas of Interest:  Urban Poverty; Social Inequality; Sociology of Education; Race, Ethnicity, and Class; Residential Segregation; Social Policy; Mass Incarceration. smith693@uwm.edu  

Cusatis, Rachel
rcusatis@uwm.edu

Ferrell, DaJuan

dajuan@uwm.edu

Jackson, Kenneth
Areas of Interest:  Sociology of Culture and Subculture; Social Stratification; Religion; Deviance, Criminology (theory), and Middle Eastern and North African Societies. ejackson@uwm.edu 

McCarthy, Matthew
Areas of Interest:  Information Control and its Processes including the Powers and Resistances that Form Around It; Surveillance Studies; Nexus of Smart ID cards and Internet Usage; Digital Divide, specifically at the third level; Political Sociology; Theory.  mccart74@uwm.edu 

Pylman, Maureen
Areas of Interest:  Education (Retention in Higher Education, Transition from Secondary to Post-Secondary Institutions, Schools as Workplaces), Research Methods, Neighborhoods, Friendship, Midwifery/Medicalization.  mepylman@uwm.edu 

Ray-Grover, Teameaka
Areas of Interest: Social Inequality, Research Methods, Urban Inequality, Blacks, Urban Crime, and the Criminal Justice System,  Urban Studies, Social Institutions: Marriage and Family, Qualitative Analysis.  ray3@uwm.edu 

Renault, Kristin Baybayan

baybayan@uwm.edu

Thompson, Cassandra
cot@uwm.edu  

Wolover, David (DJ)
Areas of Interest:  Sociology of Media (New Media, journalism, and news production), technology and its impact on culture, international & transnational sociology, political sociology & social movements, social networks, theory.  dwolover@uwm.edu