How to Declare your Sociology Major/Minor

To declare your major or minor in Sociology, you will need to:

  1. Print an unofficial transcript. (Request an official transcript via your PAWS account. You will then immediately be sent an e-mail with your transcript as an attachment.
  2. Pick up an Information for the Prospective Sociology Major packet or a Minor Information sheet in the Department Office, Bolton Hall, Rm. 714.
  3. Meet with one of the Sociology Undergraduate Faculty Advisors (see list below) during their walk-in office hours to sign-up and determine your course plan. If you cannot attend walk-in advising hours, please contact one of the advisors by phone or e-mail to arrange an appointment. Please bring your unofficial transcript with you.
Sociology Undergraduate Faculty Advisors

Prof. Noelle Chesley, Sociology Director of Undergraduate Studies
Office:  Bolton 752
Phone:  414/229-2215
E-mail:  chesley@uwm.edu
Fall Semester (Sept 2–Dec 8) Walk-In Advising Hours:  Tuesdays 1:00–2:00 and Fridays 1:00–2:00

Prof. Marcus Britton
Office:  Bolton 728
Phone:  414/229-5308
E-mail:  britton@uwm.edu
Fall Semester (Sept 2–Dec 8) Walk-In Advising Hours:  Thursdays 1:00–3:00

Prof. Celeste Campos-Castillo
Office:  Bolton 736
Phone:  414/229-1113
E-mail:  camposca@uwm.edu
Fall Semester (Sept 2–Dec 8) Walk-In Advising Hours:  Wednesdays 9:00–11:00

Prof. Stacey Oliker
Office:  Bolton 766
Phone:  414/229-2398
E-mail:  stacey@uwm.edu
Fall Semester (Sept 2–Dec 8) Walk-In Advising Hours:  Tuesdays 11:30–12:30 and Thursdays 3:30–4:30

Prof. Aki Roberts
Office:  Bolton 740
Phone:  414/229-6943
E-mail:  aki@uwm.edu
Fall Semester (Sept 2–Dec 8) Walk-In Advising Hours:  Tuesdays 3:00–5:00

Prof. Heeju Shin
Office:  Bolton 730
Phone:  414/229-4859
E-mail:  shin2@uwm.edu
Fall Semester (Sept 2–Dec 8) Walk-In Advising Hours:  Mondays 11:00–1:00

Prof. William Velez
Office:  Bolton 746
Phone:  414/229-4809
E-mail:  velez@uwm.edu
Fall Semester (Sept 2–Dec 8) Walk-In Advising Hours:  Wednesdays 1:00–3:00