2008 Scott Greer Awards

Linda Sunde - Scott Greer Award

Ms. Linda Sunde is the recipient of the "Scott Greer Award for Postgraduate Contributions to Urban Affairs." She received her Masters Degree in Urban Affairs and a Bachelors Degree in Political Science, both from the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee. Linda Sunde is Wisconsin State Director for the Corporation for National and Community Service, the federal agency responsible for VISTA, AmeriCorps, Senior Corps, and Learn and Serve programs. Sunde's previous experience includes Assistant Director of the Center for Urban Initiatives and Research at the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee; Project Director for the Marquette University - Community Partnership; Community Development Director for the Campus Circle Project at Marquette University, Instructor at Milwaukee Area Technical College, and Project Associate with the Harambee Human Services Project. She served for 15 years as Executive Director and VISTA supervisor at Milwaukee Associates in Urban Development (MAUD), where she was also a VISTA volunteer in the early 1970s. Sunde currently serves as President of the Community Development Society, an international association of community development scholars and practitioners. She received the Society's Duane Gibson Distinguished Service Award in 2003.

Dr Gary Henry

Dr. Gary T. Henry is the recipient of the "Scott Greer Award for Postgraduate Achievement in Advancing Understanding of Urban Social Institutions." He received a Ph.D. from the Urban Social Institutions program at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in 1982 and bachelors and masters degrees in Political Science from the University of Kentucky. Gary T. Henry holds the Duncan MacRae '09 and Rebecca Kyle MacRae Professorship of Public Policy in the Department of Public Policy and directs the Carolina Institute for Public Policy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He also holds an appointment as Senior Statistician in Frank Porter Graham Institute for Child Development at UNC-Chapel Hill. Henry previously held the William Neil Reynolds Distinguished University Visiting Professorship at UNC; served as a professor in the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, Department of Political Science, and Department of Education Policy Studies at Georgia State University, and the Department of Public Policy at Georgia Institute of Technology. He previously served as the Director of Evaluation and Learning Services for the David and Lucile Packard Foundation.

Henry has evaluated a variety of policies and programs, including North Carolina's Disadvantaged Student Supplemental Fund, Georgia's Universal Pre-K, public information campaigns, and the HOPE Scholarship as well as school reforms and accountability systems. The author of Practical Sampling (Sage 1990), Graphing Data (Sage 1995) and co-author of Evaluation: An Integrated Framework for Understanding, Guiding, and Improving Policies and Programs (Jossey-Bass 2000).

Henry has published extensively in the fields of evaluation and education policy. He received the Outstanding Evaluation of the Year Award from the American Evaluation Association in 1998 for his work with the Georgia's Council for School Performance and the Joseph S. Wholey Distinguished Scholarship Award in 2001 from the American Society for Public Administration and the Center for Accountability and Performance along with Steve Harkreader. Dr. Henry currently serves on the Standing Committee for Systemic Reform, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education. Recently, he completed service on a National Research Council/National Academies of Sciences committee assessing the effects of "green schools" on the health and productivity of teachers and students and co-authored the committee report.

Peter Janecky

Peter R. Janecky received the Scott Greer Award for Outstanding Urban Research for his paper: "The Open Housing Debate in Milwaukee, 1967: A Multidimensional Analysis of Public Discourse on Residential Discrimination." Peter is a doctoral student in the History Department.