University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee

Laura L. Hunt

UWM Distinguished Professors
J. Rudi Strickler
Biological Sciences

James Cook

David Petering

Wilfred Tysoe

Jane Gallop

John Heywood

Nadya Fouad
Educational Psychology

J. David Hoeveler

Merry Wiesner-Hanks

Arun Garg
Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering

Pradeep Rohatgi
Materials Engineering

Anastasios Tsonis
Mathematical Sciences

Margaret Atherton

John Koethe

Robert Schwartz

John L. Friedman

Michael Weinert

Abbas Ourmazd

Bookmark and Share
Sep 8, 2008 
Three more UWM Distinguished Professors named
New UWM Distinguished Professors
(L-R) Nadya Fouad, John Heywood, and Abbas Ourmazd have been named UWM Distinguished Professors.

Three additional faculty members were recently named as University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee Distinguished Professors by the UW Board of Regents. They are: John Heywood (economics), Nadya Fouad (educational psychology) and Abbas Ourmazd (physics).

The newly named faculty brings the current number of UWM Distinguished Professors to 18. Since 1973, there have been 35.

Distinguished Professor is the UW System’s most prestigious title: one that recognizes a continuous record of scholarly accomplishments, significant contribution to an academic field, and strengthened research efforts and opportunities. Appointment requires the positive recommendation of the UWM Committee of Distinguished Professors.

“I extend my congratulations to these deserving faculty members whose academic work not only enriches their fields of study, but also casts an impressive light on the intellectual life of the university as a whole,” says Colin Scanes, dean of the UWM Graduate School and vice chancellor for research and economic development.
Last year, members of the Faculty Senate and Chancellor Carlos Santiago expressed a concern that too few of these titles exist at UWM, especially given the university’s size. Since then, 13 new titles have been given to UWM faculty, while one Distinguished faculty member has retired.