Nursing Faculty Member Appointed to State eHealth Board

Wisconsin Governor Jim Doyle has appointed Norma Lang, Regents Distinguished Professor of Nursing at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, to the state’s newly established eHealth Board for the WIRED (Wisconsin Relay for Electronic Health Delivery) initiative.

The Wired for Health board will develop plans for a statewide exchange that will make it easier to transfer needed medical information from one hospital or clinic to another, benefiting patient safety while reducing duplication in medical tests and decreasing administrative costs, according to a release from the Governor’s office. The initiative was announced in December, 2009.

Lang, who is also the Aurora Distinguished Professor of Healthcare Quality and Informatics, leads a project  which has brought together researchers, computer engineers, staff nurses and information technology experts to apply health informatics to the work that nurses do.  The ACW project, named for three partners involved -- Aurora Healthcare, the Cerner Corporation and UWM’s College of Nursing –aims to synthesize nursing knowledge and get  it to nurses in a user-friendly format right at the point of care.. 

Lang is one of 15 board members and the only representative from higher education.

"As dean of the College of Nursing, I am delighted to have such a strong voice for interdisciplinary healthcare practice at the table,” said Sally Lundeen of Lang’s appointment to the board.

Other Board members appointed include:

John Foley, Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield

Mary Davis Michaud, patient/consumer representative

Tim Size, Rural Wisconsin Healthcare Collaborative

Stephen Brenton, Wisconsin Hospital Association

Susan Turney, Wisconsin Medical Society

John Whitcomb, Aurora/Milwaukee County Medical Society

Cheryl DeMars, The Alliance

Gary Plank, Marshfield Clinic

Robert Carlson, Marshfield Clinic

Christopher Queram, Wisconsin Collaborative for Healthcare Quality

Jeffrey Grossman, University of Wisconsin Health

Oskar Anderson, State of Wisconsin Chief Information Officer

Jason Helgerson, State of Wisconsin Medicaid Director

Seth Foldy, State of Wisconsin Public Health Officer