Dr. Susan Dean-Baar awarded at Sigma Theta Tau International for contribution to the Standards of Rehabilitation Nursing Practice.

The following UWM College of Nursing faculty received awards at the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), nursing honor society, 41st Biennial Convention in Texas this October:

Susan L. Dean-Baar, associate dean for academic affairs and acting dean of the Joseph J. Zilber School of Public Health, received the Dorothy Garrigus Adams Award for Excellence in Fostering Professional Standards and the Lucie S. Kelly Mentor Award.

webresizeJHP_9863The Dorothy Garrigus Adams Award for Excellence in Fostering Professional Standards is presented to a Sigma Theta Tau International member who demonstrates leadership in encouraging the use and promoting the growth of professional standards, expands the understanding of professional standards to increase the quality and quantity of practice, utilizes professional standards to advance nursing practice, participates in the evolution or interpretation of the standards of the profession and is involved in significant areas of fostering professional standards.

The Lucie S. Kelly Mentor Award recognizes the influence that mentors in the nursing profession have had on the lives and careers of others.

Dr. Susan Dean-Baar has been a leader and mentor in the development and implementation of nursing standards and guidelines for practice. Her work in the area of standards development began in the mid -1980s when she was appointed to a joint American Nurses Association and Association of Rehabilitation Nurses task force to revise the Standards of Rehabilitation Nursing Practice. As a result of her contributions to the work done jointly by these associations, Dr. Dean-Baar was invited to serve on a task force to write a white paper on the purpose and nature of professional nursing standards which lead to the creation of a national committee which she chaired. After a two year process of ongoing dialogue across numerous organizations and groups, the committee was able to develop a framework for standards and guidelines that was supported by 32 specialty organizations. This framework has withstood the test of time and continues to be the framework used for development of professional nursing standards today. Because of her outstanding work in the area of professional standards, Dr. Dean-Baar is currently a member of the American Academy of Nursing Expert Panel on Quality Health Care.

One nominator wrote, “Dr. Dean-Baar has been a role model for professionals committed to developing and implementing standards and guidelines in nursing. She has provided leadership in the evolution of standards. Specifically, she led the development of standard documents, the implementation of these standards into education and practice and has articulated nursing contribution in interdisciplinary activities related to standards. She continues her focus on standards and guidelines as a magnet appraiser and a frequent guest lecturer for undergraduate and graduate courses.”

Dr. Dean Baar has served as editor of Rehabilitation Nursing, chair of the Rehabilitation Nursing Foundation and president of the Association of Rehabilitation Nurses (ARN). She received her BSN and PhD from Loyola University, and a MS with a major in rehabilitation nursing from Rush University. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.

She is a member of the Gamma Phi and Eta Nu chapters of STTI.
Rachel F. Schiffman, professor and associate dean for research also received the Lucie S. Kelly Mentor Award
This award recognizes the influence counselors or guides in the nursing profession have on the lives and careers of others. Dr. Schiffman was recognized by STTI President Morin, her colleague at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, for her advice and support during President Morin’s term. She helped President Morin execute her academic role more effectively, thus enabling her to focus on her responsibilities as STTI President.

Dr. Schiffman received her BS and MS degrees in nursing, and her PhD in educational psychology. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. Her research focus is on early childhood intervention programs with a specific focus on family health, infant mental health and social emotional development with home visitation as a service delivery model. She is also the director of the Self-Management Science Center in the college and of UWM's Clinical and Translation Research Support Office.

She is a member of the Eta Nu and Alpha Chi chapters of STTI.

Sally P. Lundeen, professor and dean received the Dorothy Ford Buschmann Presidential Award. This award is bestowed by the president of Sigma Theta Tau International for distinguished service to the Honor Society of Nursing. In 1997, in celebration of Sigma Theta Tau International’s 75th Anniversary, the award was named to recognize the pioneer leadership of STTI’s first president, Dorothy Ford Buschmann.

Dr. Karen Morin culminated her Sigma Theta Tau International presidency by giving Dr. Lundeen this award in gratitude for the incredible support she and the faculty at the UW-Milwaukee College of Nursing provided throughout her tenure as president.