University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee

Greater Milwaukee Foundation's Mary L. Nohl Fund Fellowships for Individual Artists 2009 Exhibition

October 8 - December 12, 2010
Opening Reception: October 8, 5-8 pm

Location: INOVA/Kenilworth
Cost: Free

INOVA - Institute of Visual Arts at the UWM Peck School of the Arts opens an exhibition of work by the artists who received the Greater Milwaukee Foundation's Mary L. Nohl Fund Fellowships for Individual Artists in 2009. The Nohl Fellowship exhibition opens on Friday, October 8, 2010 at INOVA/Kenilworth, 2155 N. Prospect Ave. It brings together work by two artists selected in the Established Artist category: Peter Barrickman and Harvey Opgenorth; and two artists selected in the Emerging Artist category: Kim Miller and John Riepenhoff. For the first time in the history of the Nohl Fellowship program, the exhibition will also include several works that are the result of a year-long collaboration among the artists.

The four Fellows were chosen in October 2009 by a panel of three jurors: Brooklyn-based artist Jennie C. Jones; Toby Kamps, then senior curator at the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston (now curator of modern and contemporary art at The Menil Collection, Houston); and Barbara Wiesen, director and curator of the Gahlberg Gallery in the McAninch Arts Center at College of DuPage in Glen Ellyn, Illinois.

INOVA will host a reception to honor the Nohl Fellows on Friday, October 8, from 5-8 pm. Two of the 2009 jurors, Toby Kamps and Barbara Wiesen, will be in attendance. The 2009 Nohl Fellows will offer live performances throughout the evening.

Seven additional events have been scheduled in conjunction with the Nohl exhibition. All of these events are free. A series of four Thursday evening events emerged from the Fellows' collaboration; the other events include a lecture and a screening. An exhibition catalogue will be available for purchase in the gallery during the opening and throughout the exhibition.