University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee

Arts in Milwaukee


Located on Milwaukee’s bustling East Side, the UW-Milwaukee Peck School of the Arts is literally on the doorstep of hundreds of arts and entertainment venues and activities. From art galleries to museums to beaches to theatres, there’s always something to do.

And remember, many if not most of the arts venues in town - including the Peck School of the Arts - offer ticket discounts to students. Be sure to ask before you purchase your tickets!

Listed below are some helpful resources that can connect you to all the great things to do, see and explore in Milwaukee:

Arts and Entertainment Groups

Alverno Presents (http://alvernopresents.alverno.edu/)
Bel Canto Chorus (http://www.belcanto.org/)
Bob Kames Foundation (http://www.bobkamesfoundation.org/)
Boulevard Ensemble Studio Theatre (http://www.boulevardtheatre.com/)
Charles Allis Art Museum (http://www.charlesallis.org/)
Danceworks (http://danceworksmke.org/)
Discovery World (http://www.discoveryworld.org/)
Early Music Now (http://www.earlymusicnow.org/)
First Stage Children’s Theatre (http://www.firststage.org/)
Florentine Opera (http://www.florentineopera.org/)
Haggerty Museum of Art (http://www.marquette.edu/haggerty/)
In Tandem Theatre (http://www.intandemtheatre.org/)
Jazz Estate (http://www.jazzestate.com/)
John Michael Kohler Art Center (http://www.jmkac.org/)
Kenosha Symphony Orchestra (http://www.kenoshasymphony.org/)
Ko-Thi Dance Company (http://www.ko-thi.org/)
Landmark Theatres (http://www.landmarktheatres.com/market/milwaukee/milwaukee_frameset.htm)
Latino Arts Center (http://www.latinoartsinc.org/home.htm)
Marcus Center for the Performing Arts (http://marcuscenter.org/)
Milwaukee Art Museum (http://mam.org/)
Milwaukee Ballet (http://www.milwaukeeballet.org/)
Milwaukee Chamber Orchestra (http://www.milwaukeechamberorchestra.org/)
Milwaukee Chamber Theatre (http://www.chamber-theatre.com/)
Milwaukee Children’s Choir (http://www.milwaukeechildrenschoir.org/)
Milwaukee Choral Artists (http://www.milwaukeechoralartists.org/)
Milwaukee Choristers (http://wp.milwaukeechoristers.org/about.htm)
Milwaukee County Zoo (http://www.milwaukeezoo.org/)
Milwaukee Film Inc (http://www.milwaukee-film.org/)
Milwaukee Gay Arts Center (http://milwaukeegayartscenter.org/MGAC/Home.html)
Milwaukee Institute of Arts and Design (http://www.miad.edu/)
Milwaukee Opera Theatre (http://www.milwaukeeoperatheatre.org/)
Milwaukee Public Museum (http://www.mpm.edu/)
Milwaukee Public Theatre (http://www.milwaukeepublictheatre.org/)
Milwaukee Repertory Theatre (http://www.milwaukeerep.com/)
Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra (http://www.mso.org/)
Museum of Wisconsin Art (http://www.wisconsinart.org/)
Next Act Theatre (http://www.nextact.org/)
Optimist Theatre (http://optimisttheatre.org/)
Present Music (http://www.presentmusic.org/)
Pridefest (http://pridefest.com/)
Racine Art Museum (http://www.ramart.org/)
Racine Symphony Orchestra (http://www.racinesymphony.org/)
Renaissance Theaterworks (http://www.r-t-w.com/)
Sharon Lynne Wilson Center for the Arts (http://www.wilson-center.com/)
Skylight Opera Theatre (http://www.skylightopera.com/)
South Milwaukee Performing Arts Center (http://www.southmilwaukeepac.org/)
Summerfest (http://www.presentmusic.org/)
Sunset Playhouse (http://www.sunsetplayhouse.com/)
Theatre Gigante (http://www.theatregigante.org/)
Urban Ecology Center (http://www.urbanecologycenter.org/)
Walker’s Point Center for the Arts (http://wpca-milwaukee.org/)
Wisconsin Philharmonic (http://www.wisconsinphilharmonic.org/)
Wild Space Dance Co. (http://www.wildspacedance.org/)
Woodland Pattern (http://www.woodlandpattern.org/)
Youngblood Theatre Co. (http://youngbloodtheatre.com/Home.html)
Your Mother Dances (http://www.yourmotherdances.com/)

Media Outlets

88Nine RadioMilwaukee (http://www.radiomilwaukee.org/)
89.7 FM WUWM (http://www.wuwm.com/)
91.7 FM WMSE (http://wmse.org/)
Business Journal, Serving Greater Milwaukee (http://www.bizjournals.com/milwaukee)
Footlights.com (http://www.footlights.com/)
M Magazine (http://winit.mmm-mag.com/)
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (http://www.jsonline.com)
Milwaukee Magazine (http://www.insidemilwaukee.com/)
OnMilwaukee.com (http://www.onmilwaukee.com)
Shepherd Express (http://www.expressmilwaukee.com/)
TapMilwaukee (http://www.tapmilwaukee.com)
The Onion (http://www.theonion.com/)
Third Coast Digest (http://www.thirdcoastdigest.com)
WDJT-TV CBS Channel 58 (http://www.cbs58.com/)
Wisconsin Gazette (http://www.wisconsingazette.com/)
Wisconsin Jewish Chronicle (http://www.jewishchronicle.org/)
Wisconsin Public Radio (http://wpr.org)
WISN-TV ABC Channel 12 (http://www.wisn.com/index.html)
WITI-TV FOX Channel 6 (http://www.fox6now.com/)
WTMJ-TV NBC Channel 4 (http://www.todaystmj4.com/)
Quest (http://www.quest-online.com/)

Community Groups

Creative Alliance Milwaukee (http://creativealliancemke.org/)
East Town Association (http://easttown.com/)
Third Ward Association (http://www.historicthirdward.org/)
Visit Milwaukee (http://www.visitmilwaukee.org/)
West Town Association (http://www.westown.org/)
City of Milwaukee (http://city.milwaukee.gov/home)
Milwaukee County (http://county.milwaukee.gov/Milwaukee%20County7699.htm)
United Performing Arts Fund (http://www.upaf.org/)