University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee

Music Faculty & Staff


Ensembles
Guitar
Harp
Jazz Studies
Music Education
Musicology and Studies in Ethnomusicology
Music Theory, Composition and Technology
Piano
Strings
Voice
Winds, Brass and Percussion
Staff



Ensembles


John Climer
Director of Bands; Professor, Conducting
(414) 229-2936 climer@uwm.edu Zelazo 348 Bio

Scott R. Corley
Assistant Director, Bands, Senior Lecturer, Conducting
(414) 229-4560 scorley@uwm.edu Zelazo 335 Bio

Kenneth Daniel
Lecturer; Director, Gospel Choir
      Bio

Margery Deutsch
Director, University Community Orchestra
  mdeutsch@uwm.edu   Bio

Curt Hanrahan
Senior Lecturer, Saxophone; Co-Director of Jazz Studies
(414) 229-2451 hanraha6@uwm.edu Music 271 Bio

Gloria Hansen
Senior Lecturer, Assistant Director-Choral; Administrative Specialist
(414) 229-3608 gloriajh@uwm.edu Music 159 Bio

Sharon Hansen
Director of Choral Activities; Professor, Conducting
(414) 229-3608 sahansen@uwm.edu MUS 165 Bio

Jun Kim
Director of Orchestral Activities, Assistant Professor, Conducting
(414) 229-6063 kimjy@uwm.edu Zelazo 354
Bio

Guitar


Peter Baime
Lecturer, Flamenco Guitar
  pabaime@uwm.edu KSE 505 Bio

Beverly Belfer
Senior Lecturer, Guitar
  brb3@uwm.edu Music 141 Bio

Pete Billmann
Lecturer, Jazz Guitar

billmanp@uwm.edu KSE 505 Bio

Elina Chekan
Associate Lecturer, Classical Guitar, Pre-College and Suzuki Guitar
  echekan@uwm.edu Zelazo 188 Bio

René Izquierdo
Associate Professor, Classical Guitar

ri7@uwm.edu KSE 507 Bio

Don Linke
Lecturer, Jazz Guitar

dlinke@uwm.edu KSE 593 Bio

John Stropes
Faculty Associate, Finger-Style Guitar; Director of Guitar Studies
(262) 994-8710 jstropes@uwm.edu KSE 597 Bio

Harp


Ann Lobotzke
Adjunct Professor, Harp
  lobotzk2@uwm.edu Zelazo 196 Bio

Jazz Studies


Curt Hanrahan
Senior Lecturer, Saxophone; Co-Director of Jazz Studies
(414) 229-2451 hanraha6@uwm.edu Music 271 Bio

Steve Nelson-Raney
Senior Lecturer, Theory and Co-Director of Jazz Studies
  snraney@uwm.edu Music 171 Bio

Kenneth Wiele
Associate Lecturer, Jazz Trombone
      Bio

Music Education


Jill Anderson
Lecturer, Music Education
  andersjk@uwm.edu   Bio

Scott Emmons
Professor, Music Education; Dean, Peck School of the Arts
(414) 229-4762 semm@uwm.edu Art 284
Bio

Sheila Feay-Shaw
Associate Professor, Music Education
(414) 229-5163 feayshaw@uwm.edu Music 360C Bio

Jeffrey A. Garthee
Senior Lecturer, Music Education
  jeffrey@uwm.edu Music 360A Bio

Catherine Robertson
Lecturer, Music Education
  robert28@uwm.edu Music 113 Bio

Beth Sacharski
Lecturer, Music Education
  sacharsk@uwm.edu   Bio

Steven Shaw
Lecturer, Music Education
  shaws@uwm.edu   Bio

Musical Theatre


Darci Brown Wutz
Musical Theatre Program Coordinator, Associate Professor, Dance
(414) 229-3058 darcwutz@uwm.edu Mitchell 343B Bio

Valerie Errante
Associate Professor, Voice; Head of Voice Area
(414) 229-5162 verrante@uwm.edu Music 261 Bio

Musicology and Studies in Ethnomusicology


Mitchell Brauner
Associate Professor, Music History and Literature
(414) 229-4550 brauner@uwm.edu Music 239 Bio

Judith Kuhn
Lecturer, History and Literature
(414) 335-4548 kuhn@uwm.edu Music 109 Bio

Timothy Noonan
Senior Lecturer, History and Literature
(414) 229-2286 tpnoonan@uwm.edu Music 131 Bio

Gillian Rodger
Associate Professor, History and Literature
  grodger@uwm.edu Music 235 Bio

Music Theory, Composition and Technology


James Burmeister
Senior Lecturer, Composition/Technology; Interim Assistant Dean
(414) 229-5162 jimbob@uwm.edu Music 151 Bio

Loren Christopher Burns
Assistant Professor, Composition/Technology
(414) 229-5162
cburns@uwm.edu Music 367 Bio

Lou Cucunato
Lecturer, Composition/Technology
  cucunato@uwm.edu Music 109 Bio

William Heinrichs
Associate Professor, Theory/Composition
  heinwill@uwm.edu Music 231 Bio

Jonathan Monhardt
Arts Technology Director
  monhardt@uwm.edu Music B10 Bio

Steve Nelson-Raney
Senior Lecturer, Theory and Jazz Studies
  snraney@uwm.edu Music 105 Bio

Kevin Schlei
Lecturer, Composition/Technology
(414) 229-3165 kdschlei@uwm.edu Music 270B Bio

Stephen Schlei
Associate Lecturer, Theory Composition/Technology

sschlei@uwm.edu

Bio

Amanda Schoofs
Lecturer, Composition/Technology
  schoofsa@uwm.edu Music 105 Bio

Jon Welstead
Chair, Dept of Music; Director, Electro-Acoustic Music Center
(414) 229-4594 jonw@uwm.edu Music 130 Bio

Piano


Elena Abend
Senior Lecturer, Piano
(414) 229-4597 eabend@uwm.edu Music 110 Bio

Judit Jaimes
Professor Emeritus, Piano
(414) 229-4597 jjaimes@uwm.edu Music 421 Bio

Margaret Otwell
Lecturer, Piano
(414) 229-4393 otwell@uwm.edu Music 116
Bio

Jeffry Peterson
Professor, Piano; Head, Piano Area
(414) 229-4393 jeffry@uwm.edu Music 331 Bio

Strings


John Babbitt
Lecturer, Jazz Bass
  babbitt@uwm.edu   Bio

Scott Cook
String Academy, Lecturer, Cello
(414) 963-4597 sacook@uwm.edu Music 436 Bio

Darcy Drexler
String Academy, Associate Lecturer, String Pedagogy
(414) 963-4729 ddrexler@uwm.edu Music 492 Bio

Stefan Kartman
Associate Professor, Cello and Chamber Music; Head of String Area
  skartman@uwm.edu Music 245 Bio

Lewis Rosove
Adjunct Professor, Viola
  lrosove@uwm.edu Music 115 Bio

Laura Snyder
Adjunct Professor, String Bass
  snyderl@uwm.edu Zelazo 196 Bio

Bernard Zinck
Associate Professor, Violin and Chamber Music
  bzinck@uwm.edu Music 441 Bio

Ralph Evans
Professor, Violin; Fine Arts Quartet, Violin
(414) 229-4612 revans@uwm.edu Music 481 Bio

Efim Boico
Fine Arts Quartet, Violin
(414) 229-4612 fima47@yahoo.com Music 261 Bio

Voice


Kerry Bieneman
Lecturer
(414) 229-5163
bieneman@uwm.edu
MUS 365
Bio

Colleen Brooks
Lecturer, Voice/Musical Theatre
      Bio

Valerie Errante
Associate Professor, Voice; Head of Voice Area
(414) 229-5162 verrante@uwm.edu Music 351 Bio

Tanya Kruse Ruck
Lecturer, Voice
  tkruse@uwm.edu Music 341 Bio

Kurt Ollmann
Lecturer, Voice
  ollmannk@uwm.edu Music 365 Bio

Winds, Brass and Percussion


David Bayles
Lecturer, Percussion
(414) 229-5162 bayles@uwm.edu Music 130 Bio

Dean Borghesani
Adjunct Professor, Percussion
  borghes3@uwm.edu Music 149 Bio

Jennifer Clippert
Assistant Professor, Flute
(414) 229-4205 clipperj@uwm.edu Music 461 Bio

Gregory Flint
Associate Professor, Horn
  gflint@uwm.edu Music 273
Bio

Matthew Gaunt
Lecturer, Tuba/Euphonium
  gaunt@uwm.edu Zelazo 336 Bio

Beth Giacobassi
Adjunct Professor, Bassoon
  giacoba2@uwm.edu Zelazo 198 Bio

Curt Hanrahan
Sr. Lecturer, Saxophone; Director of Jazz Ensemble
(414) 229-2451 hanraha6@uwm.edu Music 271 Bio

Kevin Hartman
Professor, Trumpet; Head of Winds, Brass, Percussion Area
(414) 229-3234 hartman@uwm.edu Music 260 Bio

Mark Hoelscher
Adjunct Professor, Trombone
  bassbone@uwm.edu Zelazo 336 Bio

Todd Levy
Adjunct Professor, Clarinet
  toddlevy@uwm.edu Zelazo 394 Bio

Theodore Soluri
Adjunct Professor, Bassoon
  tsoluri@uwm.edu Zelazo 198 Bio

Katherine Young Steele
Adjunct Professor, Oboe
  steeleky@uwm.edu   Bio

Carl Storniolo
Lecturer, Percussion
(414) 229-5162
storniol@uwm.edu Music 149 Bio

Tom Wetzel
Adjunct Professor, Percussion
  ttjw396@uwm.edu  

Staff


Barbara Garncarz
Office Manager
(414) 229-5162 garncarz@uwm.edu Music 130

Rebecca Littman
Music Librarian, UWM Music Library
(414) 229-5529 rlittman@uwm.edu Library E295 Bio

Jonathan Moberg
Piano Technician
(414) 229-4393 jmoberg@uwm.edu Music 490/492

Alexandra Trumbull-Holper
Program Manager
(414) 229-3896 trumbull@uwm.edu Music 135