University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee

Music Faculty & Staff


Ensembles
Guitar
Harp
Music Education
Musicology and Studies in Ethnomusicology
Music Theory, Composition and Technology
Piano
Strings
Voice
Winds, Brass and Percussion
Staff



Ensembles


John Climer
Director of Bands; Professor, Conducting
(414) 229-2936 climer@uwm.edu Zelazo 348 Bio

Kenneth Daniel
Director, Gospel Choir; Lecturer
(414) 229-3608
danielk@uwm.edu Music 155
Bio

Margery Deutsch
Director, University Community Orchestra
(414) 229-4609
mdeutsch@uwm.edu Zelazo 354
Bio

Zachary Durlam
Director of Choral Activities; Assistant Professor, Conducting
(414) 229-3608 durlam@uwm.edu MUS 165 Bio

Curt Hanrahan
Director of Jazz Ensembles; Senior Lecturer, Saxophone
(414) 229-2451 hanraha6@uwm.edu Music 271 Bio

Gloria Hansen
Assistant Director-Choral; Senior Lecturer, Administrative Specialist
(414) 229-3608 gloriajh@uwm.edu Music 159 Bio

Jun Kim
Director of Orchestral Activities, Assistant Professor, Conducting
(414) 229-4609 kimjy@uwm.edu Zelazo 354
Bio

Mark Norman
Assistant Director, Bands, Senior Lecturer
(414) 229-4560 normanm@uwm.edu Zelazo 335 Bio

Thomas Wetzel
Director, Percussion
      Bio

Guitar


Peter Baime
Lecturer, Flamenco Guitar
  pabaime@uwm.edu KSE 505 Bio

Beverly Belfer
Senior Lecturer, Guitar
  brb3@uwm.edu Music 141 Bio

Pete Billmann
Lecturer, Jazz Guitar

billmanp@uwm.edu KSE 505 Bio

Elina Chekan
Associate Lecturer, Classical Guitar, Pre-College and Suzuki Guitar
  echekan@uwm.edu Zelazo 188 Bio

René Izquierdo
Associate Professor, Classical Guitar

ri7@uwm.edu KSE 507 Bio

Andrew Lardner
Associate Lecturer, Finger-Style Guitar
alardner@uwm.edu KSE 550

John Stropes
Director of Guitar Studies; Faculty Associate, Finger-Style Guitar;
(262) 994-8710 jstropes@uwm.edu KSE 587 Bio

Irina Yanovskaya
Lecturer
  yanovska@uwm.edu Zel 188
 

Harp


Ann Lobotzke
Adjunct Professor, Harp
  lobotzk2@uwm.edu Zelazo 196 Bio

Music Education


Jill Anderson
Lecturer, Music Education
  andersjk@uwm.edu Music 360A
Bio

Scott Emmons
Dean, Peck School of the Arts; Professor, Music Education
(414) 229-4762 semm@uwm.edu Art 284
Bio

Sheila Feay-Shaw
Associate Professor, Music Education
(414) 229-5163 feayshaw@uwm.edu Music 360C Bio

Jon Gilliland
Lecturer, Music Education
       

Catherine Robertson
Lecturer, Music Education
  robert28@uwm.edu Music 113 Bio

Beth Sacharski
Lecturer, Music Education
  sacharsk@uwm.edu Music 360A
Bio

Musical Theatre


Darci Brown Wutz
Musical Theatre Program Coordinator; Associate Professor, Dance
(414) 229-3058 darcwutz@uwm.edu Mitchell 343B Bio

Tanya Kruse Ruck
Chair of Voice Area; Assistant Professor, Voice/Opera
(414) 229-5162 tkruse@uwm.edu Music 341 Bio

Musicology and Studies in Ethnomusicology


Julie Brandenburg
Lecturer, History and Literature
  julieab@uwm.edu Music 369
 

Judith Kuhn
Lecturer, History and Literature
(414) 335-4548 kuhn@uwm.edu Music 109 Bio

Timothy Miller
Senior Lecturer, Music History and Literature
  mille928@uwm.edu Music 239
 

Timothy Noonan
Senior Lecturer, History and Literature
(414) 229-2286 tpnoonan@uwm.edu Music 131 Bio

Gillian Rodger
Associate Professor, History and Literature
  grodger@uwm.edu Music 235 Bio

Todd Rongstad
Lecturer, History and Literature
  rongsta2@uwm.edu Music 369  

Music Theory, Composition and Technology


James Burmeister
Interim Assistant Dean; Senior Lecturer, Composition/Technology
(414) 229-5162 jimbob@uwm.edu Music 151 Bio

Loren Christopher Burns
Assistant Professor, Composition/Technology
(414) 229-5162
cburns@uwm.edu Music 367
KSE 585
Bio

Lou Cucunato
Lecturer, Composition/Technology
  cucunato@uwm.edu Music 109 Bio

William Heinrichs
Associate Professor, Theory/Composition
  heinwill@uwm.edu Music 231 Bio

Jonathan Monhardt
Arts Technology Director
  monhardt@uwm.edu Music 107
Bio

Kevin Schlei
Lecturer, Composition/Technology
(414) 229-3165 kdschlei@uwm.edu Music 270B
KSE 583
Bio

Stephen Schlei
Associate Lecturer, Theory Composition/Technology
  sschlei@uwm.edu
Music 171
Bio

Amanda Schoofs
Lecturer, Composition/Technology
  schoofsa@uwm.edu Music 105
KSE 577
Bio

Jon Welstead
Chair, Dept of Music; Director, Electro-Acoustic Music Center
(414) 229-5162 jonw@uwm.edu Music 130 Bio

Piano


Elena Abend
Senior Lecturer, Piano
  eabend@uwm.edu Music 110 Bio

Margaret Otwell
Lecturer, Piano
(414) 229-5162 otwell@uwm.edu Music 115
Bio

Jeffry Peterson
Head, Piano Area; Professor, Piano
(414) 229-5162 jeffry@uwm.edu Music 331 Bio

Johanna Schilling
Associate Lecturer, Piano
(414) 229-5162 schill29@uwm.edu Music 261  

Strings


John Babbitt
Lecturer, Jazz Bass
  babbitt@uwm.edu ZEL 196
Bio

Darcy Drexler
String Academy, Associate Lecturer, String Pedagogy
(414) 963-4729 ddrexler@uwm.edu Music 492 Bio

Stefan Kartman
Head of String Area; Associate Professor, Cello and Chamber Music
  skartman@uwm.edu Music 245 Bio

Claudia Lasareff-Mironoff
Adjunct Professor, Viola
  claudialm@comcast.net Music 115 Bio

Bernard Zinck
Associate Professor, Violin and Chamber Music
  bzinck@uwm.edu Music 441 Bio

Ralph Evans
Professor, Violin; Fine Arts Quartet, Violin
(414) 229-4612 revans@uwm.edu Music 481 Bio

Efim Boico
Fine Arts Quartet, Violin
(414) 229-4612 fima47@yahoo.com Music 261 Bio

Voice


Kerry Bieneman
Lecturer
(414) 229-5162
bieneman@uwm.edu
Music 365
Bio

Colleen Brooks
Lecturer, Voice
  brooksjo@uwm.edu Music 361
Bio

David Hoffman
Lecturer, Voice
  hoffmade@uwm.edu Music 361
Bio

Alisa Jordheim
Lecturer, Voice
    Music 361
Bio

Tanya Kruse Ruck
Chair of Voice Area; Assistant Professor, Voice/Opera
(414) 229-7427
tkruse@uwm.edu Music 341 Bio

Winds, Brass and Percussion


David Bayles
Lecturer, Percussion
(414) 229-5162 bayles@uwm.edu Music 149 Bio

Jennifer Clippert
Assistant Professor, Flute
(414) 229-4205 clipperj@uwm.edu Music 461 Bio

Gregory Flint
Associate Professor, Horn
  gflint@uwm.edu Music 273
Bio

Matthew Gaunt
Lecturer, Tuba/Euphonium
  gaunt@uwm.edu Zelazo 336 Bio

Beth Giacobassi
Adjunct Professor, Bassoon
  giacoba2@uwm.edu Zelazo 198 Bio

Curt Hanrahan
Director of Jazz Ensembles; Senior Lecturer, Saxophone
(414) 229-2451 hanraha6@uwm.edu Music 271 Bio

Kevin Hartman
Head of Winds, Brass, Percussion Area; Professor, Trumpet
(414) 229-3234 hartman@uwm.edu Music 260 Bio

Mark Hoelscher
Adjunct Professor, Trombone
  bassbone@uwm.edu Zelazo 336 Bio

Todd Levy
Adjunct Professor, Clarinet
  toddlevy@uwm.edu Zelazo 394 Bio

Theodore Soluri
Adjunct Professor, Bassoon
  tsoluri@uwm.edu Zelazo 198 Bio

Katherine Young Steele
Adjunct Professor, Oboe
  steeleky@uwm.edu Zelazo 192
Bio

Staff


Barbara Garncarz
Office Manager
(414) 229-5162 garncarz@uwm.edu Music 130

Rebecca Littman
Music Librarian, UWM Music Library
(414) 229-5529 rlittman@uwm.edu Library E295 Bio

Jonathan Moberg
Piano Technician
(414) 229-4393 jmoberg@uwm.edu Music 490/492

Alexandra Trumbull-Holper
Program Manager
(414) 229-3896 trumbull@uwm.edu Music 135