Alumni News

Monday, March 9, 2015
Alumnus named new Director of Economic Development for Milwaukee County
Jim Tarantino, MUP 2009, has been named by County Executive Chris Abele as the new Director of Economic Development...
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Planning and a Pint
University of Wisconsin Milwaukee Alumni Association Urban Planning invite you to Planning and a Pint!
Sunday, October 26, 2014
Ursula Twombly receives Alumni Association’s Community Service Award
SARUP alumna Ursula Twombly (BSAS 1985, M.Arch 1987) will be recognized by the UWM Alumni Association this year with for outstanding achievements in her career and civic involvement at the UWMAA Awards Evening...
Sunday, October 26, 2014
Allyson Nemec receives Alumni Association’s Distinguished Alumni Service Award
SARUP alumna Allyson Nemec (M.Arch 1990) will be recognized by the UWM Alumni Association this year for outstanding achievements in her career and civic involvement at the UWMAA Awards Evening...
Saturday, August 9, 2014
Bestul's Moire Pavilion brings new vitality to Wisconsin Avenue
SARUP alumnus Paul Bestul (M.Arch 2013) is playing an integral role in the Creational Trails project in Milwaukee...
Friday, May 9, 2014
Faculty win national award
Sebastian Schmaling (M.Arch 1996) and Brian Johnsen (M.Arch 1997), have received a 2014 Housing Award...
Tuesday, February 18, 2014
Faculty win wide recognition
Sebastian Schmaling (M.Arch 1996) and Brian Johnsen (M.Arch 1997), were recently recognized by the American Insitute of Architects...
Saturday, February 15, 2014
Alumna honored by U.S. Navy
Lt. Ina Miranda-Vargas (BSAS, 2002) was recognized by the U.S. Navy as one of the personnel who go above and beyond the call of duty...
Sunday, February 9, 2014
SARUP alumna promoted at VOA
Brenda Bush-Moline (M.Arch 1993) has assumed the role of Director the Chicago Healthcare Group at VOA Associates Incorporated...
Monday, December 16, 2013
Alumnus Paul Bestul wins 'Creational Trails competition
M.Arch 2013 alumnus Paul Bestul's idea for wood and steel structures, "Moiré Pavilions", was one of the two projects selected to be built next summer along Wisconsin Avenue...
Wednesday, October 23, 2013
Alumni featured in Dwell Asia
Savinee Buranasilapin and Tom Dannecker, partners in Thingsmatter, who both graduated with their BSAS in 1996...
Tuesday, October 8, 2013
SARUP alumna promoted to Principal at VOA
Brenda Bush-Moline (M.Arch 1993) has been unanimously elected by the Board of Directors to the position Principal...
Sunday, September 29, 2013
Scott Georgeson invited to serve on international design jury
Scott F. Georgeson, FAIA, NCARB, LEED -AP (March 1984, BSAS 1979) of Workshop Architects was invited by the Colombian Ministry of Culture to serve as the Ministry of Culture's representative for the Teatro de Cristobal Colon - Bogota, International Design Competition jury...
Saturday, August 3, 2013
Alumnus’ project on exhibit at AIA national headquarters
The project, “Water Stelae: rehydrating the Omo River valley”, by alumnus Luke Laverty (BSAS 2009), in collaboration with Derrick Whitmire and Trevor Jordan, was selected to be displayed at the American Institute of Architects' Center...
Saturday, July 20, 2013
Alumna Christen Sundquist participates in key preservation projects
Alumna Christen Sundquist participates in key preservation projects
Friday, June 14, 2013
SARUP alums awarded national grant from ArtPlace America for Artery project.
ArtPlace America announces today the award of a $350,000 grant to the Greater Milwaukee Committee’s Innovation in Milwaukee (MiKE) initiative for ‘Creational Trails, a new program in Milwaukee. ‘Creational Trails was chosen from over 1,200 applications as an exceptional example of creative placemaking...
Saturday, April 13, 2013
Darren Miller receives "40 under 40" award.
Darren Miller (M.Arch 2001) has been awarded the "40 under 40" award by the Business Journal...
Saturday, April 6, 2013
Design Fugitives' work on sale at MOMA store!
City Blocks, a coaster series by the practice Design Fugitives, is now on sale at the MOMA store...
Sunday, March 31, 2013
Alumna Laxmi Ramasubramanian receives honor
The American Council on Education has selected Laxmi Ramasubramanian to be one of 50 college and university senior faculty and administrators for the 2013-14 class of the ACE Fellows Program...
Sunday, March 10, 2013
SARUP Graduates Rise at Bray
Matt Wolfert, Michael Hacker and Clint Selle have all been promoted at Bray Architects...
Sunday, March 10, 2013
Alumni semi-finalists in Imagineering competition
Alumni semi-finalists in Imagineering competition
Friday, March 1, 2013
Kristy Jackson - Urban Planning Alumna
Kristy Jackson, Research Associate, Bicycle and Pedestrian Program...
Friday, March 1, 2013
Nate Day - Urban Planning Alumnus
Nate Day, Transportation Planner, SEH, Inc...
Friday, March 1, 2013
Ker Vang - Urban Planning Alumnus
Ker Vang, Building Manager at RYU Business Center, Green Bay...
Friday, March 1, 2013
April Jackson - Urban Planning Alumna
April Jackson, PhD student, Urban Planning, University of Illinois at Chicago...