National Organization of Minority Architecture Students (NOMAS)

NOMA was founded in Detroit, Michigan as an organization dedicated to the needs of minority design professionals and to improving the built environment. The first official meeting was held during the 1971 AIA National Convention in Detroit. Twelve African-American architects from different parts of the country met at the convention and realized the need for an organization of this type.

The founding architects were Wendell Campbell, Nelson Harris, William Brown, Robert Wilson, Robert Nash, Leroy Campbell, John S. Chase, Harold Williams, Kenneth Groggs, Jeh Johnson, D. Dodd, and E.H. McDowell. These architects wanted minority design professionals to work together to fight against discrimination and policies that condoned discrimination.

Student chapters (NOMAS) provide both a resource for information and a consortium for young designers. SARUP is proud to be home to a NOMAS Chapter.

2014-15 NOMAS @ UWM executive committee
Nolman Davis, President
Cordaroe Oscar, Vice President
Godson Mollel, Treasurer
Tyler Kelly, Secretary

2014-15 NOMAS @ UWM committee chairs
Tommy Yang, Chair, Events Committee

NOMAS @ UWM Faculty liaisons and advisors
Gil Snyder, AIA, Associate Professor and NOMAS Faculty Advisor
Dr Josef Stagg, Associate Professor
Tammy Taylor, SARUP Advising
N. J. Unaka, Instructor

NOMAS @ UWM Professional advisors
Walter Wilson, FAIA, NOMA, NCARB
Milwaukee WI
Bryan Hudson, AIA, NOMA
President, SOMA Design Consultants, Chicago IL

For more information about the National Organization of Minority Architects:

For more information about participating in NOMAS@UWM, please contact: Tammy Taylor in Advising.