School of Continuing EducationRegistration InformationContact UsUWM HomeShopping Cart
UWM logo

SCE HomepageDean's WelcomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsDistance EducationCalendarSpecial EventsDepartments & CentersCommunity ResearchInternationalCenter for the Study of the WorkplaceFaculty & StaffCustomized TrainingKeep Me Posted
 

Connect With Us

 
HomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsFaculty & Staff
 

Web Development Certificate

 

Web development courses focus on creating end-to-end solutions including database/data storage, server-side programming, cross-browser and cross-device rendering, and interactivity. Courses teach web development best practices and standards, search engine optimization, and creating mobile-ready sites.

The Web Development Certificate includes core and elective courses that can be completed in less than one year. Courses should be taken in order, as they focus on building skills as you progress through the curriculum.

If you have existing skills and experience in core courses, additional electives can be taken to meet certificate requirements.

View the Web Development Certificate Track

Dual Certificate in Web Design/Development:

Earn a certificate in both disciplines by completing the Web Development Certificate and the following Web Design courses:

  • Adobe Photoshop
  • Choose 2 Web Design Certificate Electives

Or completing the Web Design Certificate and the following Web Development courses:

  • JavaScript Programming NEW
  • Building Dynamic Websites: AJAX - Web Services NEW
  • Database Programming for the Web
  Core Courses  

Cascading Style Sheets Part I

Sat., Oct. 25

Sat., Mar. 7, 2015

Cascading Style Sheets Part II

Sat., Jan. 10, 2015

Sat., May 2, 2015

Database Programming for the Web

Thu., Mar. 19, 2015

Sat., July 11, 2015

HTML Part I

Sat., Oct. 4

Sat., Feb. 14, 2015

HTML Part II

Sat., Dec. 6

Sat., Apr. 18, 2015

Introduction to Internet Architecture and Technologies

Sat., Sept. 20

Sat., Jan. 24, 2015

JavaScript Programming - Part I

Sat., Jan. 31, 2015

Sat., May 16, 2015

Serverside Scripting for the Web New Class

Sat., Feb. 28, 2015

Sat., June 20, 2015

User Experience for the Web New Curriculum

Sat., Nov. 15

Sat., Mar. 21, 2015

 
  #ListLast(elective_label)#  
Electives can also be taken from other Internet Technologies tracks.

Fundamentals of Web Security

Tue., May 12, 2015

HTML5

Tue., Jan. 27, 2015

Sat., June 27, 2015

JavaScript Programming - Advanced

Tue., Apr. 14, 2015

JavaScript Programming - Part II New Class

Sat., Oct. 18

Sat., Feb. 7, 2015

Sat., June 6, 2015

Managing Projects for Web, Mobile Web and Native Smart Phone App Development

Fri., Apr. 17, 2015

Responsive Design

Fri., Feb. 27, 2015

Fri., July 10, 2015

SEO (Search Engine Optimization) - Definitive Guide to Higher Ratings

Thu., Dec. 4

Website Design for Mobile Devices

Fri., Feb. 6, 2015

Fri., June 12, 2015

jQuery Programming

Tue., Apr. 28, 2015

  Dates To Be Announced  
CSS3 Advanced Techniques
.NET - Practical Application Programming with .NET and Visual Studio 2010
 
  Resources  
  IT Courses Prerequisites
 
For more information, contact:
Pam Nellen, Program Manager, Business and Technology Programs, nellenp@uwm.edu, 414-227-3208
 

Features

Web Development Certificate
Web Development Certificate Brochure
Download the Brochure

Value of Prof. Certificates in Today's Workplace
The Value of Professional Certificates in Today's Workplace PDF
Download PDF

Career Resources at UWM SCE
Career Resources at UWM SCE
Download PDF


Center for the Study of the Workplace
Learn about the real-world impact of workplace changes. Hear what leaders in both business and academia have to say and help propel yourself or your company into the future.
Learn more>>