School of Continuing EducationRegistration InformationContact UsUWM HomeShopping Cart
UWM logo

SCE HomepageDean's WelcomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsDistance EducationCalendarSpecial EventsDepartments & CentersCommunity ResearchInternationalCenter for the Study of the WorkplaceFaculty & StaffCustomized TrainingKeep Me Posted
 

Connect With Us

 
HomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsCustomized TrainingFaculty & Staff
 

Project Management Certificate

 

In today's busy work environment, with budgets being carefully scrutinized and deadlines continuously tightening, managing projects successfully is critical. Whether your field is information technology, manufacturing, construction or engineering, mindful planning and execution lead to positive outcomes of projects in all aspects of work and life.

This certificate is a comprehensive program made up of courses that focus on the newest trends in project management. Gain the technical skills you need to work within time, quality, cost and technical constraints, while focusing on customers' real needs.

SCE is a Registered Education Provider with the Project Management Institute (PMI®). All courses fully support "A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) Fifth Edition," which entitles you to receive PDUs.

PM Certificates are available in face-to-face and online formats. You may also combine face-to-face and online courses toward your certificate.

For those pursuing the face-to-face or combined certificate, receive a $350 discount on your last course.

Project Management Certificate: Earn the certificate with all face-to-face courses, or combine online courses with face-to-face. Complete 14 days of courses with a minimum of 10 days coming from the core courses list. (Each online course counts as a two-day core course.)

Other certificate options: 

Project Management Certificate – Online Track

Earn the certificate by completing six consecutive online courses, each four to five weeks long. Click on the link for course titles and schedule.

Project Management Certificate – Advanced

Earn the certificate by taking eight additional days of courses after completing your PM Certificate or PM Certificate – Online Track. Click on the link to view certificate details and course options. 

 

Calendar of Classes
  Download the PM Certificate Roadmap

 

  Core Courses  

Agile Project Management

Thu.-Fri., Nov. 6-7

Thu.-Fri., June 11-12, 2015

Building and Improving Project Team Functionality

Thu.-Fri., Mar. 5-6, 2015

Contracts and Vendor Management

Wed.-Thu., Mar. 11-12, 2015

Critical Thinking: Business Analysis and Decision-Making Strategies

Tue.-Wed., Nov. 4-5

Thu.-Fri., May 14-15, 2015

Empowering Project Teams: Facilitating Communication and Collaboration Available Online

Nov. 24-Dec. 19

Apr. 20, 2015-May 15, 2015

July 20-Aug. 14, 2015

Estimating, Scheduling and Managing Project Performance Available Face-To-Face   Available Online

Oct. 27-Nov. 21

Mon.-Tue., Feb. 23-24, 2015

Mar 23, 2015-Apr 17, 2015

June 15-July 17, 2015

Lean Project Management

Mon.-Tue., Nov. 17-18

Mon.-Tue., June 1-2, 2015

MS Project for Project Managers - Using a Software Toolkit

Thu.-Fri., Feb. 12-13, 2015

Managing Multiple Projects Available Face-To-Face   Available Online

Mon.-Tue., Nov. 10-11

Feb. 2-27, 2015

Mon.-Tue., June 15-16, 2015

Jun 15, 2015-Jul 17, 2015

Sep. 14-Oct. 9, 2015

Managing Project Risks Available Face-To-Face   Available Online

Jan. 5-30, 2015

Thu.-Fri., Mar. 26-27, 2015

May 18, 2015-June 12, 2015

Aug. 17-Sep. 11, 2015

Managing Project Scope and the Impact of Change Available Face-To-Face   Available Online

Oct. 6-Oct.31

Thu.-Fri., Dec. 4-5

March 2-27, 2015

Tue.-Wed., Apr. 21-22, 2015

July 20, 2015-Aug.14, 2015

Oct. 12-Nov. 6, 2015

PMPĀ® Exam Review/Implementing a Project Management Discipline

Wed.-Fri., Dec. 10-12

Wed.-Fri., Apr. 29-May 1, 2015

Project Management Foundations Available Face-To-Face   Available Online

Feb. 9, 2015-Mar 20, 2015

Tue.-Wed., Feb. 10-11, 2015

Mon.-Tue., Apr. 27-28, 2015

May 4, 2015-June 12, 2015

Mon.-Tue., June 22-23, 2015

Project Portfolio Management: Tools and Techniques

Mon.-Tue., Dec. 8-9

Wed.-Thu., June 24-25, 2015

Return on Investment: Determining and Communicating the Project Value

Wed., Dec. 3

Fri., Apr. 17, 2015

  Dates To Be Announced  
The Transformational Project Manager New Class
 
  #ListLast(elective_label)#  

Analyzing and Validating Business Requirements

Tue.-Wed., Mar. 17-18, 2015

Business Analyst Essentials

Mon.-Tue., Mar. 2-3, 2015

Defining and Managing Business Requirements

Mon.-Tue., Dec. 1-2

Mon.-Tue., Apr. 13-14, 2015

Effective Interpersonal Communication Skills

Wed.-Thu., Dec. 10-11

Wed.-Thu., Jun. 10-11, 2015

Emotional Intelligence I: Dealing with Difficult People, Including Yourself!

Mon.-Tue., Apr. 20-21, 2015

Finance Skills for Nonfinancial Managers

Wed.-Thu., Nov. 5-6

Wed.-Thu., Apr. 8-9, 2015

Fundamentals of Organizational Development and Change Management

Wed.-Thu., Apr. 8-9, 2015

Influence Without Authority

Thu., May 14, 2015

MS Project: Advanced Scheduling, Reporting, Forecasting and Customizing

Wed.-Thu., Nov. 19-20

Wed.-Thu., June 3-4, 2015

Managing Today's Technical Professional

Wed., May 6, 2015

Proactive Testing - Risk-Based Test Planning, Design and Automation

Wed.-Thu., Apr. 15-16, 2015

 
  Related Areas  
Six Sigma Green Belt for Services and Transactions Certificate
 
For more information, contact:
Maribeth Sacho, Program Associate, msacho@uwm.edu, 414-227-3337
Anne O'Meara, Program Director, aomeara@uwm.edu, 414-227-3311
 

Features

Earn PDUs
NO LIMIT
PMI logo

AGILE PROJECT MANAGEMENT
AGILE IS THE WORD! Class runs Nov. 6-7.
Register by November 3 for Agile Project Management and receive a 10% DISCOUNT on your registration. Use code PMG10.
Enroll Today!

Project Management & Business Analysis Catalog

Or download the pdf


Center for the Study of the Workplace
Learn about the real-world impact of workplace changes. Hear what leaders in both business and academia have to say and help propel yourself or your company into the future.
Learn more>>