School of Continuing EducationRegistration InformationContact UsUWM HomeShopping Cart
UWM logo

SCE HomepageDean's WelcomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsDistance EducationCalendarSpecial EventsDepartments & CentersCommunity ResearchInternationalCenter for the Study of the WorkplaceFaculty & StaffCustomized TrainingKeep Me Posted
 

Connect With Us

 
HomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsCustomized TrainingFaculty & Staff
 

Business Communication Certificate

 

Improve your written, spoken and interpersonal communication skills to help pursue a new position or promotion. Professional instructors with real-world experience provide up-to-date knowledge in small group sessions.

Earn the certificate by completing four core courses, three electives and the capstone course within three years.

 

More

Begin with the four core courses, supplement with three electives that fit your needs, then finish with the capstone course in which you create your own project or present your portfolio. You have three years to complete the certificate coursework.

Please contact Jan Allen at (414) 227-3219 or allen3@uwm.edu to indicate your interest in the certificate and to register for your first course(s).

Close ▲

  Core Courses  

Business Style of Writing

Fri., Mar. 13, 2015

Effective Interpersonal Communication Skills

Wed.-Thu., Dec. 10-11

Wed.-Thu., Jun. 10-11, 2015

Effective Speaking and Presentation Skills

Wed.-Thu., Mar. 18-19, 2015

Emotional Intelligence I: Dealing with Difficult People, Including Yourself!

Mon.-Tue., Apr. 20-21, 2015

 
  #ListLast(elective_label)#  

Business Writing Formats

Wed., Oct. 22

Wed., Apr. 8, 2015

Developing a Communications Strategy

Tue., Dec. 2

Thu., Apr. 30, 2015

Emotional Intelligence II: Deepening Your Emotional Intelligence Skills

Wed.-Thu., Apr. 22-23, 2015

Facilitating Difficult Meetings: How to Achieve Consensus and Collaboration

Wed., May 13, 2015

From Conflict to Resolution: Managing and Mediating Conflict at Work

Thu., Nov 13

Thu., Apr. 16, 2015

Handling Difficult Conversations

Tue., Oct. 21

Tue., Mar. 17, 2015

Listening Skills

Thu., Oct. 23

Thu., Mar. 26, 2015

Negotiation Skills

Tue., Mar. 10, 2015

Technical Writing for Non-Writers Available Online

Open Enrollment-Class Available: July 1-Dec 31

Writing for Publication

Tue., Dec. 9

Wed., June 3, 2015

 
For more information, contact:
Jan Allen, Director, Business & Management, allen3@uwm.edu, 414-227-3219, 888-947-9947
 

Features

Management Development Certificate Brochure

Or download the pdf


Center for the Study of the Workplace
Learn about the real-world impact of workplace changes. Hear what leaders in both business and academia have to say and help propel yourself or your company into the future.
Learn more>>