School of Continuing EducationRegistration InformationContact UsUWM HomeShopping Cart
UWM logo

SCE HomepageDean's WelcomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsDistance EducationCalendarSpecial EventsDepartments & CentersCommunity ResearchInternationalCenter for the Study of the WorkplaceFaculty & StaffCustomized TrainingKeep Me Posted
 

Connect With Us

 
HomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsCustomized TrainingFaculty & Staff
 

Business Communication Certificate

 

Improve your written, spoken and interpersonal communication skills to help pursue a new position or promotion. Professional instructors with real-world experience provide up-to-date knowledge in small group sessions.

Earn the certificate by completing four core courses, three electives and the capstone course within three years.

 

More

Begin with the four core courses, supplement with three electives that fit your needs, then finish with the capstone course in which you create your own project or present your portfolio. You have three years to complete the certificate coursework.

Please contact Jan Allen at (414) 227-3219 or allen3@uwm.edu to indicate your interest in the certificate and to register for your first course(s).

Close ▲

  Core Courses  

Business Style of Writing New Class

Thu., Sept. 4

Effective Interpersonal Communication Skills

Tue.-Wed., June 3-4

Wed.-Thu., Dec. 10-11

Effective Speaking and Presentation Skills

Tue.-Wed., May 20-21

Wed.-Thu., Sept. 24-25

Emotional Intelligence I: Dealing with Difficult People, Including Yourself!

Tue.-Wed., Oct. 7-8

 
  #ListLast(elective_label)#  

Business Writing Formats

Wed., Oct. 22

Developing a Communications Strategy New Class

Thu., May 1

Tue., Dec. 2

Emotional Intelligence II: Deepening Your Emotional Intelligence Skills

Thu.-Fri., Oct. 9-10

Facilitating Difficult Meetings: How to Achieve Consensus and Collaboration

Tue., Sept. 30

From Conflict to Resolution: Managing and Mediating Conflict at Work

Tue., May 6

Thu., Nov 13

Handling Difficult Conversations

Tue., Apr. 29

Tue., Oct. 21

Listening Skills

Tue., May 13

Thu., Oct. 23

Negotiation Skills

Tue., Sept. 23

Technical Writing for Non-Writers

Open Enrollment-Class Available: Jan. 1-June 30

Writing for Publication New Class

Tue., Dec. 9

 
For more information, contact:
Jan Allen, Director, Business & Management, allen3@uwm.edu, 414-227-3219, 888-947-9947
 

Features

Spring 2014 Business Programs Catalog

Or download the pdf


Center for the Study of the Workplace
Learn about the real-world impact of workplace changes. Hear what leaders in both business and academia have to say and help propel yourself or your company into the future.
Learn more>>