School of Continuing EducationRegistration InformationContact UsUWM HomeShopping Cart
UWM logo

SCE HomepageDean's WelcomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsDistance EducationCalendarSpecial EventsDepartments & CentersCommunity ResearchInternationalCenter for the Study of the WorkplaceFaculty & StaffCustomized TrainingKeep Me Posted
 

Connect With Us

 
HomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsCustomized TrainingFaculty & Staff
 

Emerging Leaders Certificate

 

Designed for professionals new to management (five years or less) and those aspiring to take on management positions, the Emerging Leaders certificate program introduces and reinforces five key principles of leadership: Self-Knowledge, Valuing Others, Integrity, Personal Accountability and Change Management.

Earn the certificate by completing six core programs and two electives in as little as 18 months. Courses can also be taken individually.

 

Notes
There is a $95 enrollment fee to secure your spot in the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator assessment, and a meeting with a coach to interpret the results.
  Core Courses  

Certificate Enrollment: Emerging Leaders

Tue., July 1-Fri., June 30, 2015

Business Coach Approach

Wed.-Thu., Dec. 3-4

Wed.-Thu., Jun. 3-4, 2015

Effective Interpersonal Communication Skills

Wed.-Thu., Dec. 10-11

Wed.-Thu., Jun. 10-11, 2015

Emerging Leaders Certificate-MBTI Workshop New Class

Sat., Nov. 15

Emotional Intelligence I: Dealing with Difficult People, Including Yourself!

Mon.-Tue., Apr. 20-21, 2015

Essential Skills for Supervisors

Wed.-Thu., Feb. 25-26, 2015

Finance Skills for Nonfinancial Managers

Wed.-Thu., Nov. 5-6

Wed.-Thu., Apr. 8-9, 2015

Managing Change

Tue., May 12, 2015

 
  #ListLast(elective_label)#  

Delegation Skills

Wed., Mar. 4, 2015

Handling Difficult Conversations

Tue., Mar. 17, 2015

Influence Without Authority

Thu., May 14, 2015

Listening Skills

Thu., Oct. 23

Thu., Mar. 26, 2015

Making the Shift from Technical Expert to Organizational Leader

Tue., Mar. 24, 2015

Negotiation Skills

Tue., Mar. 10, 2015

The Confident Leader

6 Fri., May 1-June 5, 2015

 
For more information, contact:
Jan Allen, Director, Business & Management, allen3@uwm.edu, 414-227-3219, 888-947-9947
Mary Piwaron, Associate Outreach Specialist, mgv@uwm.edu, 227-3216
 

Features

Management Development Certificate Brochure

Or download the pdf


Center for the Study of the Workplace
Learn about the real-world impact of workplace changes. Hear what leaders in both business and academia have to say and help propel yourself or your company into the future.
Learn more>>