School of Continuing EducationRegistration InformationContact UsUWM HomeShopping Cart
UWM logo

SCE HomepageDean's WelcomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsDistance EducationCalendarSpecial EventsDepartments & CentersCommunity ResearchInternationalCenter for the Study of the WorkplaceFaculty & StaffCustomized TrainingKeep Me Posted
 

Connect With Us

 
HomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsCustomized TrainingFaculty & Staff
 

Emerging Leaders Certificate

 

Designed for professionals new to management (five years or less) and those aspiring to take on management positions, the Emerging Leaders certificate program introduces and reinforces five key principles of leadership: Self-Knowledge, Valuing Others, Integrity, Personal Accountability and Change Management.

Earn the certificate by completing six core programs and two electives in as little as 18 months. Courses can also be taken individually.

 

Notes
There is a $95 enrollment fee to secure your spot in the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator assessment, and a meeting with a coach to interpret the results.
  Core Courses  

Business Coach Approach

Wed.-Thu., Dec. 2-3

Wed.-Thu., June 1-2, 2016

Effective Interpersonal Communication Skills

Wed.-Thu., Dec. 9-10

Wed.-Thu., June 8-9, 2016

Emerging Leaders Certificate-MBTI Workshop

Wed., Oct. 28

Emotional Intelligence I: Dealing with Difficult People, Including Yourself!

Tue.-Wed., Oct. 6-7

Mon.-Tue., Apr. 18-19, 2016

Essential Skills for Supervisors

Wed.-Thu., Aug. 19-20

Wed.-Thu., Feb. 24-25, 2016

Finance Skills for Nonfinancial Managers

Wed.-Thu., Nov. 11-12

Wed.-Thu., Apr. 6-7, 2016

Managing Change

Tue., Sept. 8

Wed., May 11, 2016

  Dates To Be Announced  
Certificate Enrollment: Emerging Leaders
 
  #ListLast(elective_label)#  

Delegation Skills

Thu., Sept. 10

Wed., Mar. 2, 2016

Handling Difficult Conversations

Tue., Oct. 20

Tue., Mar. 15, 2016

Influence Without Authority

Tue., Sept. 15

Thu., Apr. 21, 2016

Listening Skills

Thu., Oct. 22

Thu., Mar. 31, 2016

Making the Shift from Technical Expert to Organizational Leader

Wed., Sept. 16

Tue., Mar. 29, 2016

Negotiation Skills

Tue., Sept. 22

Tue., Mar. 8, 2016

The Confident Leader

6 Fri., Sept. 11-Oct. 16

6 Fri., Mar. 4-Apr. 8, 2016

 
For more information, contact:
Jan Allen, Director, Business & Management, allen3@uwm.edu, 414-227-3219, 888-947-9947
Mary Piwaron, Associate Outreach Specialist, mgv@uwm.edu, 227-3216