School of Continuing EducationRegistration InformationContact UsUWM HomeShopping Cart
UWM logo

SCE HomepageDean's WelcomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsDistance EducationCalendarSpecial EventsDepartments & CentersCommunity ResearchInternationalCenter for the Study of the WorkplaceFaculty & StaffCustomized TrainingKeep Me Posted
 

Connect With Us

 
HomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsCustomized TrainingFaculty & Staff
 

Emerging Leaders Certificate

 

Designed for professionals new to management (five years or less) and those aspiring to take on management positions, the Emerging Leaders certificate program introduces and reinforces five key principles of leadership: Self-Knowledge, Valuing Others, Integrity, Personal Accountability and Change Management.

Earn the certificate by completing six core programs and two electives in as little as 18 months. Courses can also be taken individually.

Notes
There is a $95 enrollment fee to secure your spot in this certificate program. The fee also includes a Myers-Briggs Type Indicator assessment, and a meeting with a coach to interpret the results.
  Core Courses  

Certificate Enrollment: Emerging Leaders

Ongoing

Business Coach Approach

Wed.-Thu., Apr. 16-17

Wed.-Thu., Dec. 3-4

Effective Interpersonal Communication Skills

Tue.-Wed., June 3-4

Wed.-Thu., Dec. 10-11

Emotional Intelligence I: Dealing with Difficult People, Including Yourself!

Tue.-Wed., Oct. 7-8

Essential Skills for Supervisors

Wed.-Thu., Aug. 20-21

Finance Skills for Nonfinancial Managers

Wed.-Thu., Apr. 23-24

Wed.-Thu., Nov. 5-6

Managing Change

Wed., Apr. 30

Tue., Sept. 9

 
  #ListLast(elective_label)#  

Confidence Clinic

6 Sat., Sept. 13-Oct. 18

Delegation Skills

Thu., Sept. 11

Handling Difficult Conversations

Tue., Apr. 29

Tue., Oct. 21

Influence Without Authority

Tue., Sept. 16

Listening Skills

Tue., May 13

Thu., Oct. 23

Making the Shift from Technical Expert to Organizational Leader

Mon., Sept. 15

Negotiation Skills

Tue., Sept. 23

 
For more information, contact:
Jan Allen, Director, Business & Management, allen3@uwm.edu, 414-227-3219, 888-947-9947
Mary Piwaron, Associate Outreach Specialist, mgv@uwm.edu, 227-3216
 

Features

Spring 2014 Business Programs Catalog

Or download the pdf


Center for the Study of the Workplace
Learn about the real-world impact of workplace changes. Hear what leaders in both business and academia have to say and help propel yourself or your company into the future.
Learn more>>