School of Continuing EducationRegistration InformationContact UsUWM HomeShopping Cart
UWM logo

SCE HomepageDean's WelcomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsDistance EducationCalendarSpecial EventsDepartments & CentersCommunity ResearchInternationalCenter for the Study of the WorkplaceFaculty & StaffCustomized TrainingKeep Me Posted
 

Connect With Us

 
HomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsFaculty & Staff
 

Web Design Certificate

 

The web design curriculum is focused on creating web designs that are accessible, visually appealing, cross-browser and device compatible, and that follow design and development best practices.

The web design certificate includes core and elective courses that can be completed in less than one year. Courses should be taken in order, as they focus on building skills as you progress through the curriculum.

If you have existing skills and experience in core courses, additional electives can be taken to meet certificate requirements.

View the Web Design Certificate Course Requirements
Web Design Certificate Course Requirements

Dual Certificate in Web Design/Development:

Earn a certificate in both disciplines by completing the web design certificate and the following web development courses:

  • JavaScript Programming
  • Serverside Scripting for the Web
  • Database Programming for the Web

Or by completing the web development certificate and the following web design courses:

  • Adobe Photoshop
  • Choose two web design certificate electives
  Core Courses  

Adobe Photoshop - Basics

Wed., Mar. 4, 2015

Cascading Style Sheets Part I

Sat., Mar. 7, 2015

Cascading Style Sheets Part II

Sat., Jan. 10, 2015

Sat., May 9, 2015

HTML Part I

Sat., Feb. 14, 2015

HTML Part II

Sat., Apr. 18, 2015

Introduction to Internet Architecture and Technologies

Sat., Jan. 24, 2015

User Experience for the Web New Curriculum

Sat., Mar. 21, 2015

 
  #ListLast(elective_label)#  

Adobe Photoshop - Advanced

Tue., Mar. 24, 2015

HTML5

Tue., Jan. 27, 2015

JavaScript Programming - Part I

Sat., Jan. 31, 2015

Sat., May 16, 2015

Responsive Design

Fri., Feb. 27, 2015

Fri., July 10, 2015

SEO (Search Engine Optimization) - Definitive Guide to Higher Ratings

Fri., Apr. 24, 2015

Website Design for Mobile Devices

Fri., Feb. 6, 2015

Fri., June 12, 2015

 
  Resources  
  IT Courses Prerequisites
 
For more information, contact:
Pam Nellen, Program Manager, Business and Technology Programs, nellenp@uwm.edu, 414-227-3208
 

Features

Web Design Certificate
Web Design Certificate
Download PDF

Resources at UWM SCE
Career Resources at UWM SCE
Download PDF

Value of Professional Certs in Today's Workplace
The Value of Professional Certificates in Today's Workplace PDF
Download PDF


Center for the Study of the Workplace
Learn about the real-world impact of workplace changes. Hear what leaders in both business and academia have to say and help propel yourself or your company into the future.
Learn more>>