School of Continuing EducationRegistration InformationContact UsUWM HomeShopping Cart
UWM logo

SCE HomepageDean's WelcomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsDistance EducationCalendarSpecial EventsDepartments & CentersCommunity ResearchInternationalCenter for the Study of the WorkplaceFaculty & StaffCustomized TrainingKeep Me Posted
 

Connect With Us

 
HomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsFaculty & Staff
  Nonprofit and Public Sector Education  
  Courses  

Budgeting Basics for Public Managers

Wed.-Thu., May 13-14, 2015

Budgeting in a Nonprofit Organization

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Building Critical Thinking Skills in Today's Public Manager

Wed., March 18, 2015

Capital Campaigns

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Communication DOs and DON'Ts for Public Managers

Wed., Feb. 18, 2015

Creating and Innovating Through Change Within the Public Sector

Wed., Jan. 21, 2015

Creative Nonprofit Leadership

Wed., March 25, 2015

Tue., July 7, 2015

Developing a Strategic Plan for Your Nonprofit Organization

Wed., June 3, 2015

Diversity in Action: A Historic Look at Nonprofit Organizations

Thu., Apr. 2, 2015

Effective Employee Management for Nonprofit Organizations

Wed., Feb. 25, 2015

Ethics, Values and the Public Manager

Wed., Mar. 4, 2015

Ethics and Values in the Nonprofit Sector

Wed., Apr. 8, 2015

Financial Management within the Nonprofit Sector, Parts 1 & 2

Jul. 22-23, 2015

Dec. 2-3, 2015

Fundraising for Nonprofit Organizations

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

How to Read a Nonprofit Financial Statement

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Inclusion Strategies for Nonprofit Organizations

Wed., Apr. 22, 2015

Information Management Within the Public Sector

Wed., Sept. 9, 2015

Introductory Nonprofit Certificate

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Leadership for Public Administrators

Wed., Apr. 15, 2015

Wed., Oct. 21, 2015

Leadership in a Nonprofit Organization

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Legal Concepts Essential for Nonprofit Organizations

Wed., May 6, 2015

Legislative Relations for Nonprofit Managers

Wed., Jan. 14, 2015

Motivating Employees in the Public Sector: Getting More Done With Less

Wed., Feb. 4, 2015

Negotiation Skills for Public Managers: 'Winning' Without Creating 'Losers'

Wed., Apr. 1, 2015

Nonprofit Board and Volunteer Development

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Nonprofit Boards and Governance

Wed., May 20, 2015

Nonprofit Information Management and Technology

Wed., Feb. 11, 2015

Wed., Feb. 24, 2016

Nonprofit Marketing and Communications Strategies

Wed., Jan. 28, 2015

Nonprofit Organization Development and Analysis

Wed., June 17, 2015

Personnel Management Overview

Wed.-Thu., Jan. 7-8, 2015

Presenting Yourself to One or Many

Wed., May 27, 2015

Principles of Marketing for Nonprofit Organizations

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Professional Certificate in Nonprofit Management Capstone Session (Half Day)

Fri., Feb. 20, 2015

Program Performance Measurement and Evaluation for Nonprofits

Wed., Mar. 18, 2015

Social Media for Nonprofits

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Strategies to Defuse Explosive Situations

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Strategy for Nonprofit Organizations

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Stress, Health and Productivity

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Supervision Practices

Wed.-Thu., June 24-25, 2015

The Language of Nonprofits

Thu., Mar. 5, 2015

Valuable Volunteer Management Tools for Nonprofit Organizations

Wed., Mar. 11, 2015

Workplace Dispute Resolution

Wed., June 10, 2015

  Dates To Be Announced  
Controlling the Time Robbers in the Public Sector
Developing and Managing Effective Teams Within the Public Sector
Effectively Managing Within a Multi-Generational Public Sector Workplace
Emotional Intelligence and Communication Skills for Public Managers
Employment Law for Public Managers
Fundraising and Revenue Development for Nonprofits: Parts 1 & 2
How to Plan and Conduct an Effective Public Meeting
Lead Your Employees to Award-Winning Customer Service Within the Public Sector
Management Assessment for Personal Planning and Development
Media Relations Within the Public Sector
Productivity & Quality Improvement
Program Planning and Delivery for Nonprofits
Social Media in the Public Sector: Explore the Possibilities
The Art of Delegation New Class
The Neutral Zone Process
 
For more information, contact:
Shirley J. Burks (Bufford), Program Director, sbufford@uwm.edu, 414-227-3157
Mordecai Lee, Professor , mordecai@uwm.edu, 414-227-3282
Gevon M. Daynuah, Program Manager, daynuah@uwm.edu, 414-227-3351
Cynthia S Tsogbe, Program Coordinator, tsogbe@uwm.edu, 414-227-3874
 

Features

Online Elective Workshops
Check out the new online option to complete elective workshop topics within the Public Administration certificate or the Professional Judicial Assistant Certificate in Administration.
Learn More


Center for the Study of the Workplace
Learn about the real-world impact of workplace changes. Hear what leaders in both business and academia have to say and help propel yourself or your company into the future.
Learn more>>