School of Continuing EducationRegistration InformationContact UsUWM HomeShopping Cart
UWM logo

SCE HomepageDean's WelcomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsDistance EducationCalendarSpecial EventsDepartments & CentersCommunity ResearchInternationalCenter for the Study of the WorkplaceFaculty & StaffCustomized TrainingKeep Me Posted
 

Connect With Us

 
HomeCourses & ProgramsCertificate ProgramsFaculty & Staff
  Nonprofit and Public Sector Education  
  Courses  

Budgeting in a Nonprofit Organization

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Jul. 1-June 30, 2016 Available Online

Capital Campaigns

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Jul. 1-June 30, 2016 Available Online

Challenging Conversations

Thu., July 16

Collaboration within the Public Sector

Wed., July 15

Communication DOs and DON'Ts for Public Managers

Thu., Aug. 6

Controlling the Time Robbers (Online) New Class

Thu.-Tue., May 7-June 30

Wed.-Thu., July 1, 2015-June 30, 2016

Controlling the Time Robbers in the Public Sector

Wed., Nov. 4

Creative Nonprofit Leadership

Tue., July 7

Developing Public and Private Relations

Wed., Dec. 9

Developing a Strategic Plan for Your Nonprofit Organization

Wed., June 3

Developing and Managing Effective Teams Within the Public Sector

Wed., Nov. 18

Diversity in Action: A Historic Look at Nonprofit Organizations

Thu., Oct. 1

Effective Employee Management for Nonprofit Organizations

Wed., Sept. 16

Effectively Managing Within a Multi-Generational Public Sector Workplace

Wed., Dec. 2

Emotional Intelligence and Communication Skills for Public Managers

Tue., Aug. 11

Ethics and Values in the Nonprofit Sector

Wed., Aug. 5

Financial Management within the Nonprofit Sector, Parts 1 & 2

Jul. 22-23

Dec. 2-3

Fundraising and Revenue Development for Nonprofits: Parts 1 & 2

June 24-25

Dec.9-10

Fundraising for Nonprofit Organizations

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Jul. 1-June 30, 2016 Available Online

How to Assess and Improve Your Public Agency's Performance: The Balanced Scorecard

Fri., Jul. 17

How to Read a Nonprofit Financial Statement

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Jul. 1-June 30, 2016 Available Online

Inclusion Strategies for Nonprofit Organizations

Wed., Oct. 28

Increase Your Public Agency's Funding Through Grant Research & Proposal Writing

Wed., Aug. 12

Information Management Within the Public Sector

Wed., Sept. 9

Introductory Nonprofit Certificate

Jul. 1-June 30, 2016

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Leadership for Public Administrators

Wed., Oct. 21

Leadership in a Nonprofit Organization

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Jul. 1-June 30, 2016 Available Online

Legal Concepts Essential for Nonprofit Organizations

Wed., Oct. 14

Legislative Relations Within the Public Sector

Tue., Oct. 6

Legislative Relations for Nonprofit Managers

Tue., Sept. 22

Nonprofit Board and Volunteer Development

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Jul. 1-June 30, 2016 Available Online

Nonprofit Boards and Governance

Wed., Dec. 16

Nonprofit Information Management and Technology

Wed., Nov. 11

Wed., Feb. 24, 2016

Nonprofit Marketing and Communications Strategies

Wed., Aug. 19

Nonprofit Organization Development and Analysis

Wed., June 17

Office Politics (Online) New Class

Thu.-Tue., May 7-June 30

Wed.-Thu., July 1, 2015-June 30, 2016

Performance Coaching for Public Managers

Thu., Aug. 13

Personnel Management Overview

Mon.-Tue., Jul. 13-14

Principles of Marketing for Nonprofit Organizations

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Jul. 1-June 30, 2016 Available Online

Problem Analysis for Public Managers

Fri., Aug. 14

Problem Solving (Online) New Class

Thu.-Tue., May 7-June 30

Wed.-Thu., July 1, 2015-June 30, 2016

Professional Certificate in Nonprofit Management Capstone Session (Half Day)

Fri., Aug. 21

Program Planning and Delivery for Nonprofits

Wed., Aug. 26

Social Media for Nonprofits

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Strategic Planning for Public Administrators

Wed., Sept. 16

Strategies to Defuse Explosive Situations

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Jul. 1-June 30, 2016 Available Online

Strategy for Nonprofit Organizations

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Stress, Health and Productivity

Course Accessible: July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 Available Online

Jul. 1-June 30, 2016 Available Online

Supervision Practices

Wed.-Thu., June 24-25

The Language of Nonprofits

Thu., Sept. 3

Valuable Volunteer Management Tools for Nonprofit Organizations

Wed., Sept. 30

Workplace Dispute Resolution

Wed., June 10

  Dates To Be Announced  
Budgeting Basics for Public Managers
Building Critical Thinking Skills in Today's Public Manager
Creating and Innovating Through Change Within the Public Sector
Employment Law for Public Managers
Ethics, Values and the Public Manager
How to Plan and Conduct an Effective Public Meeting
Introduction to Nonprofit Management New Class
Lead Your Employees to Award-Winning Customer Service Within the Public Sector
Media Relations Within the Public Sector
Motivating Employees in the Public Sector: Getting More Done With Less
Negotiation Skills for Public Managers: 'Winning' Without Creating 'Losers'
Presenting Yourself to One or Many
Productivity & Quality Improvement
Program Performance Measurement and Evaluation for Nonprofits
The Art of Delegation
The Neutral Zone Process
 
For more information, contact:
Shirley J. Burks (Bufford), Program Director, sbufford@uwm.edu, 414-227-3157
Gevon M Daynuah, Program Manager, daynuah@uwm.edu, 414-227-3351
 

Features

Online Elective Workshops
Check out the new online option to complete elective workshop topics within the Public Administration certificate or the Professional Judicial Assistant Certificate in Administration.
Learn More