June 11, 2002

Business N456

1:30 pm


PRESENT:    John Friedman, Laurie Glass, Marcia Parsons, Ronald Perez, Erika Sander, Ann Snyder


I.                    CALL TO ORDER AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA: Snyder called the meeting to order at 2:15 p.m.  The agenda was approved as presented.


II.                 APPROVAL OF MINUTES:  The May 28, 2002 minutes were approved as amended.


III.               PERSONS WHO WISH TO BE HEARD (Not longer than 15 minutes): There were no persons who wished to be heard.




A.    Snyder attended the SOIS meeting.  The Polices and Procedures were approved and faculty committees are now being created.


B.     Snyder attended the Board of Regents reception.


C.     Snyder announced that Provost Wanat will attend the July 23rd UC meeting and Monica Rimai will attend the August 6th UC meeting.


D.    Snyder announced that the Helen Bader Institute for Nonprofit Management has submitted the by-laws for UC review.  A copy will be kept on file with the Office of the Secretary of the University.


E.     Snyder reported a copy of a letter from Ron Weber, Chair of APPC, to the Rules Committee regarding the approved proposal from Cultures and Communities Program to establish a Cultures and Communities GER Focus.


F.      Snyder requested the members review the UC handbook and provide suggestions/changes for the 2002-03 handbook.


VI.              MEMBERS' REPORTS:




VII.            OLD BUSINESS:


A.    Action Item(s):




B.     Discussion Item(s):






A.    Action Item(s):


1.       Divisional Committee appointments for Social Sciences – More information is being gathered.


B.     Discussion Item(s):


1.       Nominations for subcommittee to examine proposed changes to SAAP S-39 “Merit Salary Recommendations – Information to Faculty Members” – An email was sent to all faculty requesting names of those willing to serve on the subcommittee to review the proposed changes to S-39.  Six names were received and the following four were nominated to serve on the subcommittee: Stephen Samerjan, Jeanne Beauchamp Hewitt, Faith Crampton, and Ginny Stoffel who was nominated to serve as Chair.  It was moved and passed with a 3,0,1 vote.


IX.               PERSONNEL MATTERS: [Closed session according to Wis. Stats. 19.85 (1)(f)] The UC went into closed session at 2:26 p.m.  The UC arose from closed session at 2:34 p.m.


X.                 ADJOURNMENT:  The meeting adjourned at 2:34 p.m.