August 27, 2002

Business N456

1:00 pm


PRESENT:   Davida, Glass, Parsons, Perez, Sander, Schwartz, Strickler


I.                    CALL TO ORDER AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA: Parsons called the meeting to order at 1:06 p.m.  The agenda was approved as amended.


II.                 APPROVAL OF MINUTES:  The August 20, 2002 minutes were approved as amended.


III.               PERSONS WHO WISH TO BE HEARD (Not longer than 15 minutes): There were no persons who wished to be heard.




A.                 Parsons reported meeting with Provost Wanat.  The issues to be addressed by the University Committee for the 2002-03 year were discussed.  Wanat was pleased with all issues and inquired whether both the UC as well as APBC should be brought into ongoing budgetary considerations.

B.                 Parsons reported the Student Association would like the teaching evaluations to be available for student use as a guide when selecting classes.

C.                 Parsons announced the luncheon with the Academic Staff Committee will be held on September 19, 2002 from 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

D.                 Parsons reported discussing the Social Science Division Committee appointments with Professor Jeffrey Merrick.  Merrick agreed that the UC’s procedures appear to be within the intent of the Polices and Procedures.


VI.              MEMBERS' REPORTS:

A.                 Glass, Perez and Schwartz attended the Department Chairs Retreat.  The duties for Department Chairs have been rewritten.  The final draft will be presented to the University Committee.


            Parsons departed at 1:50 p.m. and Glass assumed Chair.


VII.            OLD BUSINESS:


A.                 Action Item(s):

1.       Appointment to the following faculty standing committees: ITPC, Codification (nominees only), APCC and FAGC. - A list of names was created for each committee.  Faculty members will be contacted and appointments will be made at the next scheduled University Committee meeting.


2.       Appointment to Social Sciences Divisional Committee – A list of names was created for the Social Sciences Divisional Committee.  Faculty members will be contacted and an appointment will be made at the next scheduled University Committee meeting.

3.       Appointment to the Faculty Senate-School of Business – It was moved and seconded to appoint Professor Fatemeh Zahedi to the Faculty Senate.  It was approved by a voice vote.


B.                 Discussion Item(s):






A.                 Action Item(s):


1.       Request for School of Social Welfare to departmentalize – Dean Blackburn and Professor Stan Stojkovic presented the motion to the University Committee.  Discussion occurred.  The UC concurred with the motion.

2.       University Committee operating guidelines – A draft of suggested UC guidelines was distributed.  Substantial discussion occurred; the group was generally in support of the guidelines, however, Davida expressed great concern about the contents of the handout being in violation of state law.  A legal opinion will be obtained and discussion will continue at the next scheduled meeting.

3.       Appoint members to represent the University Committee on the following committees: EBC, APBC, ADA, Faculty Reps, and Board of Visitors – Parsons will serve on APBC and the Faculty Reps, Sander will serve on the ADA Advisor Committee, Strickler will serve on the Board of Visitors.  Appointment to EBC will take place at the next scheduled meeting.

4.       Appoint two faculty members to the Transportation Subcommittee–one from the Physical Environment Committee and one faculty representative – Deferred until the next scheduled meeting.

5.       University Committee Annual Report – The committee agreed to forward the annual report to the Office of the Secretary of the University. 


B.                 Discussion Item(s):




IX.               PERSONNEL MATTERS: [Closed session according to Wis. Stats. 19.85 (1)(f)]




X.                 ADJOURNMENT:  The meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.