September 17, 2002

Business N456

1:00 pm


PRESENT:   Davida, Glass, Parsons, Perez, Sander, Schwartz, Strickler


I.                    CALL TO ORDER AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA: Parsons called the meeting to order at 1:09 p.m.  The agenda was approved as presented.


II.                 APPROVAL OF MINUTES:  The September 10, 2002 minutes were approved with amendments.


III.               PERSONS WHO WISH TO BE HEARD (Not longer than 15 minutes): There were no persons who wished to be heard.


IV.              CHANCELLOR AND PROVOST REPORT: (Provost 1:40 p.m. – 2:50 p.m.   Chancellor 1:50 p.m. – 2:50 p.m.)


Parsons asked Wanat when the names need to be submitted to Leslie Schulz for the assessment steering committees.  Wanat reported that there is a timetable of activities which Schulz has prepared and which he will share with the UC.


Wanat reported that he will meet with the School of Information Studies to discuss their transition due to the Dean's resignation.

Chancellor Zimpher stated she plans to attend UC meetings with the Provost since we often engage in discussions where information from both of them is useful.

The Chancellor described the new Corporate Council of 30 leaders who meet quarterly to advise UWM on a variety of issues.  Guy Gottschalk and President Katherine Lyall attended the most recent meeting, at which the Chancellor guided the discussion to include the state budget, the state mandate to campuses to lead economic stimulus, UWM's need for expanded residential living opportunities, the challenges to acquire and remodel Columbia Hospital and Kenilworth to meet campus needs, the enrollment/growth plan, and the commitment to raise both donated and grant revenues.

There was discussion of the completed PAR process, and about a potential need to continue the process.  This would create an opportunity to consider hiring and reorganization in order to sharpen or create stronger focal points of excellence supported by a critical mass of faculty.  The Chancellor suggested that the UC formulate a list of questions for Academic Affairs to address; a joint effort between administration and faculty would be required to accomplish this.  It would be useful to begin such a process now as we also begin the accreditation process.

Chancellor Zimpher reported that Lucia Petrie will begin her duties as head of the UWM Foundation on October 1, 2002.  The schools and colleges will assist with the campaign, and the Deans will be reporting about prospective donors.

There was a brief discussion on the role of athletics in generating alumni interest, and it is clear that basketball is viewed as a great asset to UWM.

The Chancellor also expressed her desire to find means to provide greater recognition for outstanding research work by faculty.




A.                 Parsons met with Provost Wanat at which they discussed the accreditation process. 


B.                 Parsons announced that the UC and ASC will have a joint meeting on October 24th at 12:30 p.m.  The location is to be determined. Davida and Glass announced they will be unable to attend.


C.                 Parsons announced that the Office of Equity and Diversity Services has delivered the 2001-2002 Affirmative Action Plan Binders.  The binders are available for reference and located in the UC Chair’s office.

VI.              MEMBERS' REPORTS:

A.                 Sander announced the ADA Advisory Committee will be meeting the week of September 23rd.


B.                 Schwartz announced the EBC will be meeting Wednesday, September 18th at 11:30 a.m.  Due to a scheduling conflict, Schwartz will only attend the beginning of the meeting.


            Schwartz announced that he will be unable to attend the October 29th and November 19th UC meetings.

C.                 Strickler announced that he would be unable to attend the October 1st and 8th UC meetings.

VII.            OLD BUSINESS:


A.                 Action Item(s):

1.       Appointments to the Transportation Subcommittee - Professor Robert Eger appointed to the Transportation Subcommittee.


2.       Appointments to the Awards & Recognition Committee and the Research Policy Committee - Professor William Haseman appointed to the Awards & Recognition Committee.  A list of names was created for the Research Policy Committee.  Faculty members will be contacted and an appointment will be made at the next scheduled University Committee meeting.


3.       Appoint 15 faculty members to the assessment steering committee – The committee began considering names for the 5 subcommittees.



B.                 Discussion Item(s):






A.                 Action Item(s):


1.       Appointments to the Natural Sciences Divisional Committee (one to replace Bruce Allen 1st semester and one to replace Norman Lasca 2nd semester) – A list of names was created for the committee.  Faculty members will be contacted and an appointment will be made at the next scheduled University Committee meeting.


B.                 Discussion Item(s):




IX.               PERSONNEL MATTERS: [Closed session according to Wis. Stats. 19.85 (1)(f)]


1.       Report of CEAS

a.       The committee went into closed session at 3:17 p.m.

Perez left at 3:32 p.m.

Glass left at 3:40 p.m.


b.      The committee rose from closed session at 3:50 p.m.


X.                 ADJOURNMENT:  The meeting adjourned at 3:55 p.m.