Asian Faculty and Staff Association


Team UWM AFSA Panthers (pdf) - Photos from the Milwaukee Dragon Boat Festival, July 12, 2014

AFSA Award Brochure (pdf), 2015-16

Asian Faculty/Staff Accomplishments (pdf), October 22, 2013

AFSA Reception Photos (pdf), October 22, 2013

AFSA Reception Photos (pdf), April 25, 2013

Asian Faculty and Staff Newsletter (pdf), April 2013


Mission Statement:

The Asian Faculty and Staff Association (AFSA) seeks to advance the scholastic and civic interests of its members by providing opportunities to:

  • work collaboratively across disciplines to plan and conduct research;
  • promote partnerships with community-based organizations for research and evaluation activities;
  • serve as consultant to the UWM community on academic; sociocultural; and faculty, staff and student recruitment and retention issues;
  • encourage and reward the scholastic achievement and community participation of UWM Asian students; and
  • network and socialize.


Photos from the Asian Faculty and Staff Reception on October 22, 2013 in the Chapman Hall, Regents Room (see also "AFSA Reception Photos" above for more pictures):


AFSA reception on 10-22-13

AFSA reception on 10-22-13

AFSA reception on 10-22-13

AFSA reception 10-22-13

AFSA reception on 10-22-13

AFSA reception on 10-22-13

AFSA reception on 10-22-13

AFSA reception on 10-22-13

AFSA reception on 10-22-13




AFSA Award Recipients*:

Community Service Award
Dr. Gwat-Yong Lie, associate dean of Graduate School
Scholarship Awards Mr. Kai-Yu Wang, graduate student in SBA
Mr. Tao Lee, undergraduate student in Information Studies
Community Service Award Dr. Swarnjit Arora, professor & director of ISPR
Scholarship Awards Ms. Vinthany Souvannarath, undergraduate student in Sociology
Ms. Laty Keodouangsy, graduate student in Education
Community Service Award Ms. Linda Huang, Acting Director of Multicultural Student Center
Achievement Scholarship Awards Ms. Harpreet Kaur, undergraduate student in Business Administration
Ms. Jihyun Park, master's student in Speech & Language Pathology
Honorary Scholarship Awards Mr. Lin Li, undergraduate student in Pre-Med
Mr. Prabha Hariharan, doctoral student in Urban Education
Mr. Vikas Lachhwani, doctoral student in Business Administration
Achievement Scholarship Awards Ms. Gaomormee Yang, undergraduate student in Biological Sciences
Ms. Feifei Zhu, doctoral student in Business Management Sciences
Honorary Scholarship Awards Mr. Yung-Lung Chen, doctoral student in Educational Psychology
Ms. Rashi Sharma, doctoral student in Geography
Community Service Award Ms. C.J. Kim, former AFSA co-chair
Achievement Scholarship Awards Mr. Long Chang, undergraduate student in Architecture
Mr. Barjinder Singh, doctoral student in Management Science
Honorary Scholarship Awards Ms. Yun-Ting Hung, doctoral student in Curriculum & Instruction
Mr. Peng Yu, master's student in Journalism & Mass Communication
Achievement Awards Ms. Bharti Tandon, doctoral student in Exceptional Education
Mr. Yu-Ping Chen, doctoral student in Management Science
Honorary Awards Ms. Anushree Saha, doctoral student in Physics
Mr. K.G. Thishan Dharshana, doctoral student in Atmopheric Sciences
Achievement Awards Mr. Khongchee Xiong, undergraduate student in Health Sciences
Mr. Lin Zhuo, master's student in Mathematical Sciences
Achievement Awards Ms. Sue Her, undergraduate student in Social Welfare
Mr. Balaji Polepalli Ramesh, doctoral student in Medical Informatics
Honorary Awards Mr. Kun Lu, doctoral student in Information Studies
Mr. Nicholas Hartlep, doctoral student in Urban Education and Social Foundations of Education
Certificate of Appreciation Mr. Azim Siddique, MillerCoors (AFSA scholarship program donor)
Achievement Awards Ms. Vivian Lee, undergraduate student in Nursing
Mr. Leonard Cruz, doctoral student in Education
Honorary Award Ms. Binal Motawar, doctoral student in Health Sciences
Achievement Awards Ms. Pakou Lo, undergraduate student in Nursing
Ms. Suchismita Banerjee, doctoral student in English
Honorary Awards Ms. Namalie Yang, undergraduate student in Health Care Administration
Ms. Amy Xiong, master's student in Occupational Therapy
Achievement Awards Mr. Adam Vue, undergraduate student in Philosophy
Ms. Elizabeth Ching-In Chen, doctoral student in English
Honorary Award Mr. Karthik Palaniappan, doctoral student in Engineering

*The AFSA Awards are made possible with donations from UWM faculty/staff, and generous contributions from the UWM School of Information Studies and the MillerCoors Asian Employee Affinity Network.

Steering Committee:
Aparna Datey Paru Shah


Swarnjit Arora

Rina Ghose

Patricia Goeman


Timothy Hathaway

Linda Huang

Yuko Kojima-Wert


Susie Lamborn

Dawn Lee-Vue

Gwat-Yong Lie

  Karen Miyoshi

Channy Rasavong

Vipavee Thongpriwan
  Hanh Trinh Chia Youyee Vang  
 Award Subcommittee:
Vipavee Thongpriwan, Chair Susie Lamborn Dawn Lee-Vue
Channy Rasavong Paru Shah
Newsletter Subcommittee:
Seminar Subcommittee:


Reception Subcommittee:

  AFSA Reception Photos (pdf), February 14 , 2012
  AFSA Reception Photos (pdf), October 27, 2010
  AFSA Newsletter (pdf), February 2012
  UWM Extramural Awards (pdf), FY 2012
  UWM Extramural Awards (pdf), FY 2011
  AFSA Award Recipients Profile (pdf), 2010-11
  Asian Faculty and Staff Achievements (pdf), 2009-10
  AFSA Scholarship Luncheon (pdf), April 14, 2010
  AFSA Award Brochure, 2009-10 (pdf)
  AFSA Newsletter , March 2009 (pdf)
  AFSA Newsletter, February 2007 (pdf)
  Tsunami Relief, Spring 2005
Suggstions or questions for this Web site, please contact Linda Huang.
UW-Milwaukee Revised May 2014